University of Cincinnati logo and link
E-mail this information to a friend  

Mapping Co-op’s Spread: The “Cincinnati Plan” Circles the Globe

The new growth areas for co-op are international. Co-op manuals are now being translated into Chinese and Japanese. However, below you'll find information regarding co-op's growth in the United States. The list is not exhaustive of all U.S. co-op schools. 

Date: 9/15/2005 12:00:00 AM
By: Mary Reilly
Phone: (513) 556-1824
Photos By: Provided by UC Archives and College of Engineering

UC ingot  

1906 birthUniversity of Cincinnati

– Northeastern University (Boston)

1910 – University of Pittsburgh

1911 – University of Detroit

1912 – Georgia Institute of Technology and Rochester Institute of Technology 

1914 – University of Akron

1915 – New York City’s high schools

1918 – Marquette University, Milwaukee

1919 – Drexel University (Philadelphia) and Massachusetts Institute of Technology 

1920 – Harvard University

1921 – New York University and Antioch College (Yellow Springs, Oh.)

1923 – Cleveland State University (formerly Fenn College)

1924 – Kettering University (Flint, Mich.)

1925 – University of Louisville

1926 – University of Tennessee at Knoxville and Southern Methodist University (Dallas)

1930 – Schools in England, Germany, China and Hawaii

1932 – University of Florida and Lawrence Technological University (Southfield, Mich.)

1933 – Bennington College (Vermont)

1936 – Illinois Institute of Technology (Chicago)

1937 – Auburn University

1939 – Northwestern University (Chicago) and University of Alabama at Birmingham

1944 – University of Denver and Fashion Institute of Technology (New York City)

1945 – Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (Troy, N.Y.)

1946 – University of California-Berkeley and Mohawk Community College (New York State)

1947 – Cornell University and University of Evansville (Indiana)

1948 – University of California-Los Angeles

1949 – Bradley University (Peoria)

1950 – University of Minnesota and Los Angeles State

1951 –  University of Delaware, Stetson University (DeLand, Fl.) and Saint Joseph's University (Philadelphia)

1952 – Lehigh University (Bethlehem, Pa.), University of Georgia, New Mexico State University and Virginia Polytechnic Institute

1954 – Purdue University, Iowa State University and Sinclair Community College (Dayton, Oh.)

1955 – Clemson University, Mississippi State University and University of West Virginia

1956 – University of Arizona 

1957 – University of Waterloo (Ontario, Canada)

1959 – University of Michigan at Dearborn

1960 – University of Houston

1961 –  University of South Florida and Kalamazoo College

1962 – Tuskegee University and University of Alabama

1964 – Alderson-Broaddus College (Philippi, W.V.), Graham Junior College (Boston), Stout State University (Wisconsin), Wilberforce University (Ohio) and University of Wisconsin at Milwaukee

1965 – Beloit College (Wisconsin) and Manhattan Community College

1966 – Cincinnati State College and University of Texas at Austin

1968 – Bowling Green State University (Ohio), University of Central Florida, Elmira College, North Carolina State University and Wayne State University (Detroit)

1970 – Lane Community College (Eugene, Ore.) and University of Maryland at College Park

1971 – LaGuardia Community College

1972 – Florida State University and University of North Florida

1973 – College of New Jersey, University of Dayton, East Tennessee State University and New Jersey City University

1974 – East Carolina University, Montclair State University (New Jersey) and Rutgers University

1975 – Wentworth Institute of Technology

1976 – University of North Texas and Saint Peter's College (Jersey City, N.J.)

1977 – Long Island University (C.W. Post Campus) and Old Dominion University (Norfolk, Va.)

1978 – University of Michigan at Flint and University of North Carolina at Charlotte

1979 – Pace University (New York City)

1980 – Ramapo College of New Jersey

1981 – Manhattan College and Seton Hall University (South Orange, N.J.)

1982 – University of Michigan at Ann Arbor and College of Mount St. Joseph (Cincinnati)

1983 – Valparaiso University (Indiana)

1985 – Pennsylvania State University

1986 – Bristol Community College (Massachusetts), Central Piedmont Community College, Indiana University, Ohio University, Stevens Institute of Technology (Hoboken, N.J.), University of Texas at Brownsville and Texas Southmost College

1987 – Grand Valley State University (Allendale, Mich.) and Ohio Northern University

1989 – Mount Saint Mary College (Newburgh, N.Y.)

1993 – Butler Community College (El Dorado, Kan.)

2005 – DePaul University (Chicago)

Return to main page of "Co-op Special Report."

Digg! Digg | | Slashdot Slashdot | Reddit Reddit | AddThis Social Bookmark Button

More UC News | UC Home