Faculty AwardsUniversity of CincinnatiFaculty Awards

Faculty Awards

George Rieveschl Jr. Award for Creative and/or Scholarly Works


Each year the Rieveschl Award for Creative and/or Scholarly Works is given to one member of the University of Cincinnati full-time faculty. This award, in the amount of $2,000, was set up through the generosity of Dr. George Rieveschl to recognize distinguished achievements of national and international acclaim in the areas of scholarly and/or creative work. The award is given for a particular work or for the sum of a faculty member’s accomplishments, with emphasis on work carried out at the University of Cincinnati. The Rieveschl Award Committee for Creative and/or Scholarly Works, a committee serving under the auspices of the Faculty Senate, chooses the awardee from among the nominees. Written nominations are now being solicited for this award. Faculty may nominate themselves or colleagues, and nominations from previous years may be resubmitted.

A nominee or nominator must submit a curriculum vitae and cover letter, along with the nomination form (doc). The nominating letter should make a case for the excellence of the candidate’s work. Supporting materials should comprise the broadest possible sample of work, such as articles, books, critical reviews, and documentation of performances, exhibitions and presentations. Letters from within and without the university must be included with the nomination. These should be recent and relevant to the award. Letters from outside the United States are welcome. Those sent by email should be followed by copies in postal mail.

Past Rieveschl awardees have included faculty members from the departments of Anthropology, Classics, Economics, English, History, Philosophy and Romance Languages in A&S; the divisions of Ensembles/Conducting, Keyboard, Music Composition, Music Performance, and Stage Design in CCM; DAAP’s School of Art and Department of Fine Arts, School of Architecture and Interior Design; the College of Engineering; and the College of Law. 

The deadline for nominations is Friday, Dec. 4, 2015, at 5 p.m. The letter of nomination and all supporting letters and materials must be delivered to Ben Hofstetter in the Office of the President, Room 625, University Pavilion. The recommendation on the winner will be forwarded to the Provost and President on Jan. 20, 2016 by the award's committee chair. The 2016 Rieveschl Award recipient will be honored at the Faculty Awards Celebration in April 2016.


For questions or information, contact:

Bruce S. Ault, Chair
2015-16 Rieveschl Award Committee for Creative and/or Scholarly Works
UC E-mail: ault@ucmail.uc.edu
Phone: 513-556-9238

Send Nominations to:

Rieveschl Award for Creative and/or Scholarly Works
c/o Ben Hofstetter, President's Office
Room 625, University Pavilion
ML 0063

Note: The Rieveschl Award for Distinguished Scientific Research is administered by a separate committee under the auspices of the Graduate Fellows. Inquiries about this award should be addressed to Professor Joseph Caruso, Chair, Awards Committee of the Graduate Fellows, Department of Chemistry, Room 507A, Rieveschl Hall, ML 0172. Tel: 513-556-9306. E-mail: joseph.caruso@uc.edu

Note on Selection

The recipient’s selection is subject to a final verification by the Provost confirming the current good standing of the awardee.