Immigration Updates

The President of the United States first signed executive order 13769 on January 27, 2017 that affected travelers from seven countries. That order was temporarily suspended by a federal court and has been waiting a decision on its legality. On March 6, 2017, the President signed a new executive order that affects travelers from six countries.

On June 26, 2017, the U.S. Supreme Court partially granted the government's request to stay the preliminary injunctions. The decision, however, contains an important exception that upholds the injunction for individuals "who have a credible claim of a bona fide relationship with a person or entity in the United States." Most students and scholars, therefore, should continue to be exempt from the 90-day bar.

However, some family members may not qualify to come visit you. For the moment, the Department of State has indicated that relatives deemed sufficiently close family to exempt people from the travel ban, whether as visitors or refugees, are listed as a parent, spouse, child, an adult son or daughter, son-in-law, daughter-in-law or sibling, as well as their stepfamily counterparts. The exemption explicitly does not cover a number of other family relationships: grandparents, grandchildren, aunts, uncles, nieces, nephews, cousins, brothers-in-law and sisters-in-law, fiances and other “extended” family members. Please be aware of this when inviting people to come visit you.

We'll keep this page updated with the most recent information and helpful resources. If you have any questions, you can contact the international office for assistance.