Travel Restrictions & Exemptions

Which countries are restricted?

The University of Cincinnati’s Student Travel Policy restricts UC sponsored-travel to countries under a U.S. Department of State Travel Warning or countries which are sanctioned or embargoed by the U.S. Treasury Department Office of Foreign Asset Control (OFAC).


Can I get an exemption?

Those who wish to visit a country with a travel warning may download and complete a Travel Exemption Form, to be reviewed by the UC International Travel Oversight Committee. Students traveling without a faculty or staff leader must individually request an exemption. Faculty or staff leading a group of students must complete a request on behalf of the entire group.

If a student chooses to go to a location on the Travel Warning List without an exemption from the policy, they may not participate in a university-sponsored program, receive support from the university, or receive credits (including transfer credits) from the overseas program.


How & when are exemptions reviewed?

The International Travel Oversight Committee will review travel exemptions at its monthly meeting. Meetings are typically held the first Thursday of the month.

Appeals should be submitted at least several days prior to the scheduled meeting, as appeals are first sent to International SOS for third party review prior to being reviewed by the International Travel Oversight Committee. If there are no submissions 48 hours prior to a scheduled meeting, meetings are typically cancelled.