Global EngagementUC HomeAbout UCUC AcademicsUC AdmissionsUC AthleticsUC GlobalUC HealthUC LibrariesUC ResearchNews


Outstanding UC Student Advisors Honored for Their Dedication

The recipients of the annual Sarah Grant Barber Outstanding Advisor Award are announced this week.

Date: 5/2/2013 1:30:00 PM
By: Dawn Fuller
Phone: (513) 556-1823

UC ingot   The University of Cincinnati’s outstanding student advisors were honored this week for their dedication to undergraduates. The UC Undergraduate Academic Advising Association (UCUAADA) announced the recipients of the Sarah Grant Barber Outstanding Advisor Award, sponsored by the UCUAADA and the Advising Resource Center.

The annual award – named in the memory of a compassionate and outstanding academic advisor in the College of Design, Architecture, Art, and Planning (DAAP) – recognizes qualities and practices of undergraduate advisors that distinguish these professionals for their commitment to their profession, the students they advise, and their institutions. The award has been a UC tradition since 2003.

The 2013 Sarah Grant Barber Award recipients are:

Outstanding Advising Administrator – Krista Maddox
Outstanding Advising Professional – Charlie Scruggs
Outstanding Faculty Advisor – Elisa Yancey

The UCUAADA also named the recipient of a new honor for 2013. Ned Donnelly is the first recipient of the Barbara Schooley Award for Outstanding Contributions to UCUAADA. Schooley was the founder of the UCUAADA.

The UCUAADA was formed in 1988 to provide communication links and information sharing among those involved in academic advising. The UCUAADA represents all colleges and offices involved in undergraduate student advising and is committed to implementing ideas and programs to strengthen advising.