Global EngagementUC HomeAbout UCUC AcademicsUC AdmissionsUC AthleticsUC GlobalUC HealthUC LibrariesUC ResearchNews


Sigma Xi Announces Award Winners for 2014

The University of Cincinnati chapter of the international research society will honor six individuals on Tuesday, Feb 25.

Date: 2/20/2014 3:00:00 PM
By: Greg Hand
Phone: (513) 556-1822

UC ingot   The UC Chapter of Sigma Xi has announced the winners of its 2014 awards recognizing outstanding scientific research and teaching.
The 2014 Sigma Xi Young Investigator Award will be awarded to Jure Zupan, assistant professor, Department of Physics, in the McMicken College of Arts & Sciences.
The 2013-2014 UC Sigma Xi Outstanding Science/Mathematics High School Teacher Award for Greater Cincinnati will be presented to Joe Gray of Notre Dame Academy.
The 2014 Sigma Xi Grants-in-Aid-of-Research Award will be awarded to:
  • Jinyoung Choi, Biological Sciences, Advisor:  Daniel Buchholz
  • Erika Freimuth, Geology, Advisor:  Aaron Diefendorf
  • Rachel Gilbert, Biological Sciences, Advisor: George Uetz
  • Matthew Vrazo, Geology, Advisor:  Carlton Brett
These awards are funded by the local UC Chapter of Sigma Xi, and UC’s Office of Research and The Graduate School.

Awardees will be honored on Tuesday, Feb. 25, during a ceremony from 4 6 p.m. in the Winkler Center on the East Medical Campus.   Directions to the Center can be found here: .   

The reception of light snacks and beverages is open to the entire UC Community.  Sigma Xi would appreciate you noting your attendance here:

The UC chapter of Sigma Xi, an international research society dedicated to promoting scientific enterprise and honoring scientific achievement, is a 600+ member strong organization dedicated to scientific education and research on the UC campus.

Supported Documents
Supported Document