Global EngagementUC HomeAbout UCUC AcademicsUC AdmissionsUC AthleticsUC GlobalUC HealthUC LibrariesUC ResearchNews


UC College of Law Celebrates 181st Hooding Ceremony

Graduation will be held on Saturday, May 17, beginning at 1 p.m. at the Aronoff Center for the Arts. The ceremony includes the second class of LLM (master's) degree students.

Date: 5/12/2014 4:00:00 PM
By: Sherry English
Phone: (513) 556-0060
Photos By: Dottie Stover

UC ingot   The University of Cincinnati College of Law will celebrate the accomplishments of its graduates at its 181st Hooding Ceremony, scheduled for Saturday, May 17, at 1 p.m. The event will be held at the Aronoff Center for the Arts. College of Law Dean Louis D. Bilionis will lead the ceremonies, where 139 degrees will be conferred. This number includes 130 juris doctor degrees, six LLM (master’s) degrees, and three certificates.

Members of last year's graduating class

The Hooding keynote speaker will be college alumnus Gary Garfield, ’81, CEO and president of Bridgestone Americas. In addition to his work at Bridgestone Americas, Garfield serves on the board of directors of several charitable and industry organizations, including the Tennessee Chapter of the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation, the United Way of Middle Tennessee, and the Rubber Manufacturer’s Association. Read more about Gary Garfield.

This year’s event also will include the presentation of the 2014 Nicholas J. Longworth III Alumni Achievement Award to Justice Sharon Kennedy, ’91, of the Supreme Court of Ohio. This award recognizes law school graduates for their outstanding contributions to society. Throughout her career Kennedy has served on numerous boards; developed and facilitated programs to address the needs of young people; and worked with judges across the state. She is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Furtherance of Justice Award, the Above the Fold Award, and Judge of the Year. She also was named one of 13 professional women to watch by The Cincinnati Enquirer. Read more about Justice Sharon Kennedy.

Also being honored are this year’s winners of the Goldman Prize for Excellence in Teaching: Professors Marianna Bettman, Felix Chang and Elizabeth Lenhart. The Goldman Prize is given to law school professors and is based on their research and public service as they contribute to superior performance in the classroom. For more information about the professors and their awards, read their story here: 2014 Goldman Winners

For more information about the ceremony including tickets and parking, visit the hooding web pages at: Hooding 2014.