Global EngagementUC HomeAbout UCUC AcademicsUC AdmissionsUC AthleticsUC GlobalUC HealthUC LibrariesUC ResearchNews


First Faculty-To-Faculty Research Mentoring Awards Announced

Thirteen colleges recognize faculty members’ collegial work to support research at UC.

Date: 5/2/2017 12:00:00 AM
By: Elissa Yancey
Phone: (513) 307-5944
Photos By: UC Creative Services

UC ingot  
Building a research program at a major urban university requires both personal and institutional investments, as well as expertise, dedication and time. But one other critical element—support and encouragement from peers—benefits generations of faculty while it builds relationships and inspires retention.

This spring for the first time ever, the offices of the Provost and of Research teamed up to reward faculty members who take the time to support peers at different stages in their careers. Each of the University of Cincinnati’s colleges could nominate a single faculty member for the Faculty-to-Faculty Research Mentoring Awards, based on the following criteria:

  • History of demonstrated research mentorship (discipline-specific)
  • Activities to support the success of peer faculty in clinical, translational or basic science research
  • Evidence of mentee’s success in research endeavors.

Faculty selected to receive the first Faculty-to-Faculty Research Mentoring Award were recognized at a special ceremony and also received $1,000 in faculty development funding.

“As an urban, research-intensive institution, we expect a lot from our faculty,” said Ohio Eminent Scholar Pat Limbach, vice president of research and professor of chemistry. “With this new initiative, we set out to recognize faculty dedicated to helping other faculty succeed. In the Office of Research and the Office of the Provost, we deeply understand how important it is to nurture productive relationships between faculty—it not only makes our University more welcoming, it can lead to new and exciting research discoveries.”

“We greatly value our research faculty and admire how many of them go the extra mile to support their peers,” says Provost Peter Landgren. “This new award lets us highlight and reward the important and essential work of fostering the next generation of researchers.”

Members of the inaugural class of Faculty-To-Faculty Research Mentoring Awards are:

College of Arts and Sciences
Ashley Currier, Women’s, Gender & Sexuality Studies

Carl Lindner College of Business
Yan Yu, Business Analytics

College of Allied Health Sciences
Suzanne Boyce, Speech & Language Pathology

College-Conservatory of Music
Jonathan Kregor, Musicology

College of Engineering and Applied Science
Karen Davis, Electrical & Computer Engineering

College of Education, Criminal Justice and Human Services
Keith King, Health Promotion and Education

UC Clermont College
Ron Leslie, Psychology & Sociology

College of Law
Robert Solimine

Elna Saxton, Content Services, Langsam Library

College of Medicine 
Glenn Talaska, Environmental Health

College of Nursing
Tamilyn Bakas
Tamilyn Bakas, College of Nursing
Tamilyn Bakas, second from left, was the College of Nursing's sole recipient of a first-ever Faculty-to-Faculty Research Mentoring Award.

Winkle College of Pharmacy
Pam Heaton

UC Blue Ash College
Keen Wilson, Biology