University of Cincinnati logo and link
E-mail this information to a friend  

Lindner Students Recognized for Excellence by Sigma Phi Epsilon

Nine Lindner undergraduate students awarded scholarships at annual Balanced Man Scholarship banquet.

Date: 8/30/2017 12:00:00 AM
By: Leighanne Toole
Phone: (513) 556-6319

UC ingot  
Nine Lindner Students Recognized for Excellence by Sigma Phi Epsilon

Nine students from the University of Cincinnati’s Carl H. Lindner College of Business were recognized for excellence at the annual Sigma Phi Epsilon Balanced Man Scholarship banquet, held Monday, August 28, 2017, on UC’s campus. Since 1986, the Ohio Theta chapter of Sigma Phi Epsilon has recognized and rewarded men who have demonstrated excellence across the board as leaders, scholars, athletes and gentleman. 

Seven out of the ten Balanced Man Scholarships were awarded to Lindner freshmen:
  • Jon Ashbrook, finance major, received the 2017 Bruce Blackburn Scholarship;
  • Chad Cocks, marketing major, received the 2017 Art Ernschwender Scholarship;
  • Will Pappalardo, a Kolodzik Business Scholar, received the 2017 Gary Lessis Scholarship;
  • Andrew Greiner, a Lindner Honors-PLUS scholar, received the 2017 Eric Weise Scholarship;
  • Louis Acra, a Lindner Honors-PLUS scholar, received the 2017 Garland Parker Scholarship;
  • Nick Poston, a Lindner Honors-PLUS scholar, received the 2017 Don Kindle Sigma Phi Epsilon Scholarship.
Additionally, two Lindner upperclassmen were recognized for excellence as existing brothers in Sigma Phi Epsilon:
  • Ben Finke, a fifth-year marketing and finance student, received the Don Hoback Memorial Scholarship for outstanding athletic accomplishment and overall fitness.
  • Alex Shelton, a fifth-year Kolodzik Business Scholar majoring in Operations Management and minoring in Spanish, received the George Mcilveen Scholarship, which is given to an outgoing senior who has shown excellence in his service to SigEp and the University of Cincinnati community at large.  
Sigma Phi Epsilon is nationally regarded as the premier partner in higher education. The Ohio Theta chapter has been awarded a total of 18 Buchanan Cups for overall excellence—15 awarded consecutively—signifying 30 years of excellence and the longest continuous streak of Buchanan Cups in SigEp’s history.

Digg! Digg | | Slashdot Slashdot | Reddit Reddit | AddThis Social Bookmark Button

More UC News | UC Home