Due to the holidays and Winter Season Days, UC will be closed Dec. 25-Jan. 4. Reopening on Monday, Jan. 5, 2015.

All college, advising and business offices will be closed. This includes OneStop, Bursar, Financial Aid, Registrar and Admissions.

Essential security services, like Public Safety, will continue with normal operations.

Details at uc.edu/winterclosure.

Skip to main content

Placement Testing - English

If your ACT Writing score is 17 or lower or your SAT Writing score is 420 or lower you are required to take the English Placement Test (ENPT).


Students are placed into an appropriate English composition course by the UC English Placement Test (ENPT), the ACT Combined English/Writing score, the SAT Writing score or by the English Advanced Placement (AP) Score. Students who are required to complete the English Placement Test (ENPT) must do so prior to Bearcats Bound Orientation to be able to register for fall semester courses.


Students with transfer credit for English Composition or a score of 3 or higher on the AP English Language or Literature exam do NOT take the English Placement Test, regardless of ACT/SAT Writing Score.

ACT Writing Score SAT Writing Score English Placement Needed?
28 or higher 630 or higher No.  Enroll in 15-ENGL-1012
18-27 430-620 NoEnroll in 15-ENGL-1001
17 or lower 420 or lower Yes. Take English Placement
No writing score on either test. Yes. Take English Placement

 

Students who need to complete English Placement should enroll in the Blackboard course. English Placement test enrollment instructions. Students should submit a final English Placement essay no later than two weeks prior to their scheduled orientation.


Registration

The English Placement Test is facilitated via Blackboard and is not completed at a traditional on-site testing center or classroom facility. Complete the following steps to register for the English Placement Test:

Step (1): Log into Blackboard.
               ►Your username and password for Blackboard are your Central
                   Login credentials (the same as you use for email).
               ► If you are having trouble logging into Blackboard, contact
                   University of Cincinnati Information technology at (513)
                   556-4357 or via email at helpdesk@uc.edu.
               ► If you are experiencing an issue with Blackboard, contact
                   Blackboard support at (513) 556-1602 or via email at  
                   blackboard@uc.edu.  

Step (2): Click the Courses tab at the top of the page, then enter "Main
                Campus English Placement
" in the Course Search box.

Step (3): Scroll down to the bottom of the page until you see the course
               number "uc11_viesonja_001."

Step (4): Click on the arrow next to the course number
               "uc11_viesonja_001" and select "Enroll."

Step (5): Click "Submit" on the enrollment confirmation screen.

Step (6): Click "OK" on the enrollment confirmation screen.

Step (7): Return to the course located on your "My Courses" tab in
                 Blackboard during one of the sessions listed below to
                 complete the test.    
 

Specific questions regarding the English placement test should be directed to (513) 556-5924 or email English.ArtSci@uc.edu. For questions regarding your Bearcats Bound Orientation please email orientation@uc.edu or call (513)556-2486. You may also go to our website at uc.edu/orientation.

Upcoming Test Availability

Test Begins Test Ends
Thursday, October 2, 2014 12:00 pm (noon) Monday, October   6, 2014 12:00 pm (noon)
Thursday, October 9, 2014 12:00 pm (noon) Monday, October 13 14, 2014 12:00 pm (noon)
Thursday, October, 16 2014 12:00 pm (noon) Monday, October 20, 2014 12:00 pm (noon)
Thursday, October 23, 2014 12:00 pm (noon) Monday, October 27, 2014 12:00 pm (noon)
Thursday, October 30, 2014 12:00 pm (noon) Monday, November 3, 2014 12:00 pm (noon)
Thursday, November 6, 2014 12:00 pm (noon) Monday, November 10, 2014 12:00 pm (noon)
Thursday, November 13, 2014 12:00 pm (noon) Monday,November 17, 2014 12:00 pm (noon)
Thursday, November 20, 2014 12:00 pm (noon) Monday,November 24, 2014 12:00 pm (noon)
Thursday, November 27, 2014 12:00 pm (noon) Monday, December 1, 2014 12:00 pm (noon)
Thursday, December 4, 2014 12:00 pm (noon) Monday, December 8, 2014 12:00 pm (noon)
Thursday, December 11, 2014 12:00 pm (noon) Monday, December 15, 2014 12:00 pm (noon)
Thursday, December 18, 2014 12:00 pm (noon) Monday, December 22, 2014 12:00 pm (noon)


†All tests are available on Blackboard on Thursday at noon through Mondays at noon.

Friday, February 14-17, 2014
12:00 pm (noon) Monday, February, 17, 2014
12:00 pm (noon)