The eLearning Committee reviews and makes recommendations on eLearning-related strategies, standards, technologies, and policies that support the university’s Third Century goal to Excel in eLearning. The committee will be led and supported by co-chairs (AVP for eLearning Technology & Faculty Senate Appointee) who will also serve as the representatives to the IT Council.

Co-chairs: Paul Foster, Interim Assistant Vice President of eLearning & Joni Torsella, Associated Professor, CEAS Engineering Education

Selected Scope of Responsibilities:

  • Supports the implementation of the eLearning strategic plan in alignment with the Third Century
  • Reviews and recommends adoption of new and emerging technologies in the Canopy eLearning ecosystem
  • Reviews and recommends development and implementation of eLearning-related strategies, standards, and policy

The work of the eLearning Committee will be supported by the following sub-commitees:

  • Learning Management System (LMS) Subcommittee
  • Instructional Design & Pedagogy Subcommittee
  • Online Learning Subcommittee​
  • Video & Digital Media Subcommittee

Learning Management System Subcommittee

Learning Management System (LMS) Subcommittee is to review and establish policies and practices regarding support, maintenance, upgrades, and communication for UC’s LMS. This subcommittee will review and validate new releases and system extensions to make recommendations to the eLearning Committee (and potentially the IT Council) about what updates should be installed and when. This subcommittee will also establish a yearly calendar for when course shells are to be created; enrollments are to be added or disabled; scheduled maintenance will occur; and when building blocks need to be installed or updated.

Co-chairs: Greg Lloyd, UCIT E-Learning Application – Team Lead and Cynthis Ris, A&S

Instructional Design & Pedagogy Subcommittee

Instructional Design/Pedagogy Subcommittee will work in partnership with other key groups across campus to recommend policy and practices to support sustainable, scalable, supportable, and innovative course design and pedagogy. The work of the subcommittee will include recommending an enterprise approach to Quality Matters professional development and course review; approving eLearning course template(s) and best practices; clarifying the role of information technology (IT) and instructional design (ID) personnel in the course development process; reviewing and making recommendations regarding new and emerging technologies in the context of instructional design best practices and pedagogical support; and developing policy and processes to ensure compliance and accessibility (such as Copyright, Fair Use, TEACH Act, ADA 504/508, etc.).

Co-chairs: Pat Reid, Director for Instructional Innovation and Kate York, Asst Professor, Grad Prog & Admin Srvcs

Online Learning Subcommittee

Online Learning Subcommittee will work in partnership with other key groups across campus in efforts to establish policies and practices to support the unique aspects and approaches of wholly online learning. The work of the subcommittee will include input and guidance on procedures for state authorization; defining UC’s massive open online course (MOOC) strategy and approach; ensuring adequate development opportunities for all faculty prior to teaching online courses; defining the faculty, unit, division, and college support models; partnering to develop policies and practices around intellectual property and control of course content; defining key considerations to guide the creation of online courses and programs; document process to help ensure alignment of online courses/programs with face-to-face courses/programs; and work in partnership to develop assessment strategies to support ongoing quality improvement.

Co-chairs: Melody Clark, Director of Distance Learning & Continuing Education

Video & Digital Media Subcommittee

The Video & Digital Media Subcommittee of the eLearning Committee will work collaboratively with partners across campus to recommend policies, practices and procedures to support the use and creation of video. The subcommittee will provide oversight and recommendations for how IT@UC manages the Kaltura, Echo360, WebEx and other digital media services. The subcommittee will identify appropriate use cases and sustainable uses of video for both teaching and learning and administrative purposes. The subcommittee will recommend the most effective method for video creation and use and will guide the adoption and development of the video in and outside of the classroom. This will help to further establish UC as a leader in eLearning and higher education.

Co-chairs: Tina Meagher, Senior Video Strategist (CEeL), JP Leong, Multimedia Coordinator (CECH) & Steve McKinney, Video and Classroom Tech (CoN).