Office of the RegistrarOffice of the RegistrarDepartment of Enrollment ManagementUniversity of Cincinnati

Office of the Registrar

2016-2017 Academic Calendar

 

Fall Semester 2016

Classes begin

Monday, August 22

Holiday: Labor Day Monday, September 5
Fall Reading Days (regular classes suspended; co-curricular activities continue)
Thursday - Friday, October 13 - 14

Holiday: Veterans Day

Friday, November 11

Holiday: Thanksgiving Weekend

Thursday - Sunday, November 24 - November 27

Classes end

Sunday, December 4

Examinations

Monday - Saturday, December 5 - 10

(only Saturday classes have exams on Saturday)

Doctoral Hooding and Masters Recognition
Friday, December 9

Commencement

Saturday, December 10

Fall Semester ends Saturday, December 10

Fall Semester Sessions 2016

Full Semester Term

Monday, August 22 - Saturday, December 10

Examinations: Monday - Saturday, December 5 - 10

1st  Half-Session "D"

Monday, August 22 - Sunday, October 9

Examinations: last class meeting

2nd Half-Session "E"

Monday, October 10 - Saturday, December 3

Examinations: last class meeting

   
   

Spring Semester 2017

 
Classes begin Monday, January 9
Holiday: Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.'s Birthday Monday, January 16
Spring Break Monday - Sunday, March 13 - 19

Classes end

Friday, April 21

Examinations

Saturday - Thursday, April 22 - 27

(only Saturday classes have exams on Saturday)

Doctoral Hooding Ceremony Saturday, April 29 (9am)
Commencement - Masters & Undergraduate Ceremony Saturday, April 29 (2pm)

Spring Semester ends

Thursday, April 27

Spring Semester Sessions 2017

Full Semester Term Monday, January 9 - Thursday, April 27
Examinations: Saturday - Thursday, April 22 - 27
1st Half-Session "D"
Monday, January 9 - Sunday, February 26
Examinations: last class meeting
2nd Session "E"
Monday, February 27 - Saturday, April 22
Examinations: last class meeting
Spring Break Monday - Sunday, March 13 - 19
   

Summer Semester 2017

 

Classes begin

Monday, May 8

Holiday: Memorial Day

Monday, May 29

Holiday: Independence Day Tuesday, July 4

Examinations

Last class meeting

Summer Semester ends

Saturday, August 5

Summer Semester Sessions 2017

 
Full Semester Term

Monday, May 8 - Saturday, August 5

Examinations: last class meeting

1st  Half-Term, Session "D"

Monday, May 8 - Tuesday, June 20

Examinations: last class meeting

"May-mester", Session "M"

Monday, May 8 - Sunday, May 28

Examinations: last class meeting

Session "A"

Tuesday, May 30 - Sunday, July 2

Examinations: last class meeting


2nd Half-Term, Session "E"

Wednesday, June 21 - Saturday, August 5

Examinations: last class meeting

Session "B"

Monday, July 3  – Saturday, August 5

Examinations: last class meeting

Notes

Examinations for the summer semester full term, the "May-mester" session and sessions A and B will be held during the normal class time at the last class meeting unless the instructor has secured permission for an alternative or irregular examination period.