Resident Education & DevelopmentResident Education & DevelopmentStudent Affairs

Resident Education & Development

Important Dates

Fall Semester 2013

  • Wednesday, August 21, 10 a.m. – Calhoun, Dabney, Morgens, Turner, Schneider, and Stratford Heights open at 10 a.m.
  • Thursday, August 22, 10 a.m. – Campus Rec Center, Daniels, and Siddall Halls open at 10 a.m.
  • Friday, August  23, 10 a.m. – New Student Convocation and College Day events
  • Saturday, August 24 – Welcome Weekend
  • Sunday, August 25– Welcome Weekend
  • Monday, August 26 – Fall semester classes begin
  • Monday, September 2 – Labor Day, UC offices closed
  • Monday, October 7-Tuesday, October 8 -- Reading Days. UC is open; no regularly scheduled classes occur; academic co-curriculars (e.g., recitals, etc.) will continue
  • Friday, October 11-Sunday, October 13 -- Parents' Weekend
  • Saturday, October 19 – Homecoming
  • Monday, November 11   Veterans' Day Holiday, UC offices closed
  • Thursday-Friday, November 28-November 29 Thanksgiving Holidays, UC offices closed; All halls remain open throughout the holiday period
  • Friday, December 13 – Board service ends at 2 p.m. (tentative)
  • Saturday, December 14 – Halls close for winter break at 12 p.m. (noon) (TENTATIVE)
  • Saturday, December 14 – University Commencement
  • Tuesday, December 24 and Wednesday, December 25 – Christmas Holidays, UC offices closed

Spring Semester 2014

  • Wednesday, January 1 – New Year's Day holiday, UC offices closed
  • Sunday, January 5 – Halls open for Spring Semester 2014 at 10 a.m.
  • Monday, January 6 – First day of spring classes (board service begins at breakfast)
  • Monday, January 20 – Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday, UC offices closed 
  • Friday, March 14Halls close for spring break (board service ends at 2 p.m.)
  • Saturday, March 15-Saturday, March 22 -- Spring break. Residents must see their Residence Coordinator (RC) and pay if they wish to stay over the break if they do not live in Morgens or if they do not have a 12 month contract.
  • Sunday, March 23 – Halls reopen, 10 a.m.
  • Saturday, April 26 – University Commencement
  • Saturday, April 26 – Halls close at 12 p.m. (noon)

Summer Semester 2014

  • Monday, May 26 – Memorial Day Holiday, UC offices closed 
  • Friday, July 4 – Independence Day Holiiday, UC offices closed