Resident Education & DevelopmentResident Education & DevelopmentStudent Affairs

Resident Education & Development

Important Dates

Fall Semester 2014

  • Wednesday, August 20, 10 a.m. - Calhoun, Dabney, Morgens, Schneider, Stratford Heights and Turner Halls open at 10 a.m.
  • Thursday, August 21, 10 a.m. - Daniels, Siddall Halls and UC leases at University Park Apartments, Campus Park Apartments open at 10 a.m.
  • Friday, August  22, 10 a.m. - New Student Convocation and Welcome Weekend
  • Saturday, August 23 - Welcome Weekend
  • Sunday, August 24 - Welcome Weekend
  • Monday, August 25 - Fall semester classes begin
  • Monday, September 1 - Labor Day, UC offices closed
  • Friday, September 19-Sunday, September 21 – Homecoming
  • Thursday, October 9-Friday, October 10 -- Reading Days. UC is open; no regularly scheduled classes occur; academic co-curriculars (e.g., recitals, etc.) will continue
  • Monday, November 11 - Veterans' Day Holiday, UC offices closed
  • Thursday-Friday, November 27-November 28 – Thanksgiving Holidays, UC offices closed; All halls remain open throughout the holiday period
  • Friday, December 12 - Board service ends at 2 p.m. (tentative)
  • Saturday, December 13 – Halls transition to Winter Break housing at 10am
  • Saturday, December 13 - University Commencement
  • Thursday, December 26 and Friday, December 26 – Winter Break, UC offices closed

Spring Semester 2015

  • Thursday, January 1 - New Year's Day holiday, UC offices closed
  • Sunday, January 11 - Halls open for Spring Semester 2015 at 10 a.m.
  • Monday, January 12 - First day of spring classes (board service begins at breakfast)
  • Monday, January 19 - Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday, UC offices closed 
  • Friday, March 13 - Halls transition to spring break housing (board service ends at 2 p.m.)
  • Saturday, March 14-Saturday, March 21 -- Spring break. Residents must see their Residence Coordinator (RC) and pay if they wish to stay over the break if they do not live in Morgens or if they do not have a 12 month contract.
  • Sunday, March 22 - Halls transition from spring break housing, 10 a.m.
  • Saturday, April 25 - Official hall closing at 12 p.m. (noon)
  • Saturday, May 2 - University Commencement

Summer Semester 2015

  • Monday, May 25 - Memorial Day Holiday, UC offices closed 
  • Friday, July 3 - Independence Day Holiday, UC offices closed