The Center for Excellence in eLearning’s Jason Day selected as an Apple Distinguished Educator for the Class of 2017

The Apple Distinguished Educators (ADE) program recognizes K–12 and higher-education innovators who are using Apple technology to transform teaching and learning.

Jason Day, of the Center for Excellence in eLearning (CEeL), has been named an Apple Distinguished Educator for the Class of 2017. As an Apple Distinguished Educator (ADE), Day will join a handpicked community of 2,500 educators around the world who have used Apple technology to innovate in the classroom. Through this program, Day will have the opportunity to be an author, advisor, ambassador, and advocate new Apple technology as it applies to teaching and learning.

Day is a leader of a number of Apple-centric projects on UC’s campus, which he says contributed to his selection as an ADE. As senior instructional technologist for eLearning, Day works on a myriad of projects. One of these project is the iPad initiative in Athletics and Gen-1. This program provides tools to students who may not otherwise have access to a device or other tools they need for student success. “By providing an iPad to these students, whether technologically disadvantaged as we often see in Gen-1, or as a way of lightening athletes backpack load, students are able to combine books, sports materials, and the technology of a laptop into a single light-weight device,” Day said.

Outside of this initiative, Day also assists with the iPad Initiative at UC Blue Ash Nursing; and co-leads the team implementing BryteWave Powered by VitalSource as UC’s preferred electronic course material provider, which will now be known as UC Smartbooks.

Day hopes his role as an ADE will help solidify UC’s place as a technology innovator. “I believe this will create new opportunities to share the UC story and showcase the work of our talented faculty, staff, and students,” Day says. “Further, I would like to use this opportunity in combination with my role in CEeL to replicate ADEs across UC.”

Learn more about this group of innovative educators at