

WIND ENSEMBLE LET'S DANCE!

Kevin Michael Holzman, music director and conductor Omar Thomas, guest composer Pearce Nitta, graduate student conductor

WITH Princeton High School Symphonic Band Kristen Brown, music director and conductor Todd Leonhardt, assistant music director and conductor

AND CCM Tuba Quartet

Wednesday, March 6, 2024 Corbett Auditorium 7:30 p.m.



PROGRAM

CCM Tuba Quartet

Emma Catherine

Omar Thomas (b. 1984)

Princeton High School Symphonic Band

España Cani

Pascual Marquina (1873-1948) arr. Robert Longfield (b. 1947)

Columbia

Randall D. Standridge (b. 1976)

A Symphonic Celebration

Robert Sheldon (b. 1954)

INTERMISSION

CCM Wind Ensemble

Armenian Dances, Part 1

Alfred Reed (1921-2005)

1. The Apricot Tree - Partridge's Song - Hoy, My Nazan - Alagyaz - Go, Go

Danza de los Duendes

Nancy Galbraith (b. 1951)

Three Dance Episodes from "On the Town"

Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990) trans. Paul Lavender (1937-1998)

I. Dance of the Great Lover II. Lonely Town: Pas de Deux III. Times Square Ballet: 1944

Pearce Nitta, graduate student conductor

Suite of Old American Dances

Robert Russell Bennett (1894-1981)

I. Cakewalk II. Schottische III. Western One-Step IV. Wallflower Waltz V. Rag

Caribana

Omar Thomas (b. 1984)

BIOGRAPHY



OMAR THOMAS

composer // arranger // educator

Hailed by Herbie Hancock as showing "great promise as a new voice in the further development of jazz in the future," educator, arranger, and award-winning composer Omar Thomas (b. 1984) has created music extensively in the contemporary jazz ensemble idiom. Omar previously served as an Associate Professor of Harmony at Berklee College of Music and a Visiting Professor in Music Theory at The Peabody Institute of The Johns Hopkins University. He has thrice been awarded the Certificate of Distinction in Teaching from Harvard University, where he served as a Teaching Fellow for four years. He was awarded the Boston Music Award's "Jazz Artist of the Year" in 2012. In 2017, he was selected to participate in the Cité Internationale des Arts residency in Paris, and in 2019 was the chosen recipient of the prestigious National Bandmasters Association/Revelli Award, honoring excellence in wind band composition.

Omar's music has been performed in concert halls and on stages across the country and internationally. His work is featured on Dianne Reeves's Grammy Award-winning album, "Beautiful Life." His big band, the 18-piece Omar Thomas Large Ensemble was formed in 2008. The group's first album, "I Am," debuted at #1 on the iTunes Jazz Charts and peaked at #13 on the Billboard Traditional Jazz Albums Chart. Their second release, "We Will Know: An LGBT Civil Rights Piece In Four Movements," has been hailed by Grammy Award-winning drummer, composer, and producer Terri Lyne Carrington as being a "thought provoking, multi-layered masterpiece" which has "put him in the esteemed category of great artists." Says Terri Lyne: "Omar Thomas will prove to be one of the more important composer/arrangers of his time."

ROSTER

CCM WIND ENSEMBLE

Kevin Michael Holzman, music director and conductor

Flute/Piccolo

Maddie Choi Minkyoung Choi Allison Clifford Isabella Saldaña

Oboe/English Horn

Robert Burleson Evan Dial Isaac Lookadoo Qiming Sheng

Clarinet

Beatrice Aldrich Zac Dietz Shannon Joyce Matthew Mitchell Geovanny Morales Amay Pant Aidan Peters Kylie Quinn Clara Spears

Bassoon

Bailey Aber Angylynn Kiss Ella Sweeney

Saxophone

Noah Burns Josh Duebber Aiden Schlegel Tessa Stephens

Horn

Kelly James Emily Riker Zihao Song Alyssa Webb

Trumpet

Gabriel Curtis
Mae Deeter
Shelby Gault
Ethan Maycon
Sydney Riddle
Travis Sandomierski
Joey Theobald

Trombone

Diego Castro-Lainez Samantha Monday Ryan Riegle Mark Troy

Euphonium

Matthew Baker Nick McDermott

Tuba

Kelson Laska Isaac Slavens

Percussion

Madeline Bodie Maya Chamberlin Marie Conti Qiming Han Wyatt Hatch Elliot Hungler Koen Scheid San-Lou Wei Jacob Weir Jun Zheng

Double Bass

Caleb Edwards

Piano

Isabel Mearini

ROSTER

PRINCETON SYMPHONIC BAND

Kristen Brown, music director and conductor Todd Leonhardt, assistant music director and conductor

Flute

Emily Johnson
Michaela Fishel
Leah Emery
Peyton Harmon
Elianna Messer
Mikiah Banks
Disaya Shipley
Annette Flores
Mia Dunlap
Jennifer Barrera Mendoza
Grace Hall

Piccolo

Emily Johnson

Oboe

Madeline Walton Erin Schutte

Clarinet

Cole Spradlin
Delaney Benjamin
Jack Baker
Travis Anglin
Isabela Jimenez
Daisy Raymundo Cruz
Lucas Patterson
Haley Leach
Victor Ailon Ortiz
Ziyah Walton
Emily Ortiz Perez
Jaydon Thompson

Bass Clarinet

Shaela Finnerty

Bassoon

Seb Green Charlie Robenalt Aurora Williams

Alto Saxophone

Mitchell Kessler Jacob Culter Eileen Fortner Matthew Hardman Scott Lawson

Tenor Saxophone

Ryan Benjamin Grace Perkins Austin Young

Baritone Saxophone

Layla Cato Jonathan Reyes

Horn

Jemly Ambrocio Perez Wesley Anglin Daija Phillips Declan McGrath Axel Ruiz Mondragon Aidan Hodge Jayson Thompson

Trumpet

Mallory Green
Zach Burns
Nicholas Brandt
Avery Walton
Nathan Young
Robert Bloom
Trevor Ehlerding
Olivia Kenney
Wilmer Funes-Cucum

Trombone

Braxton Williams
Connor Asari
Lincoln Scaggs
Morgan Hoog
Maverick Barnette
Erick Herrera
Mattea Johnson
Trenton Turner
Henry Baker
Oscar Sandy

Euphonium

Logan Hendrix Emily Emery Dylan Coyle Cameron Logan

Tuba

Brandon Reyes Galindo Alejandro Tepole Jaylin Powell Kollen Rodriguez

Percussion

Dyson Hinsey Rita Janssens Mykayle Bowie Micah Rogers Elijah Fitzpatrick Isabella Janssens Adrian Gordy Allison Rengering

IN THE WINGS

7:30 p.m. Friday, March 8

Winds Series

OF OUR NEW DAY BEGUN

CCM Wind Symphony

CCM Youth Wind Ensemble (CYWE)

Kevin Michael Holzman, music director and conductor

Featuring guest artist Omar Thomas, composer

CYWE and CCM Wind Symphony share an unforgettable program of music, featuring renowned guest composer Omar Thomas and a piece by CCM alumnus Shawn E. Okpebholo (DMA Composition, '07).

CYWE:

THOMAS: Come Sunday

WIND SYMPHONY:

THOMAS: Of Our New Day Begun

OKPEBHOLO: Heritage MILBURN: Meditation

THOMAS: The Low-Down Brown Get-Down

Estimated run time: 90 minutes **Location**: Corbett Auditorium

Tickets: \$19.50 adult, \$15 Student, \$15 UC faculty/staff, \$10 UC student,

\$5 CCM student; group discounts available. Buy tickets online.

Flash photography, video and audio recording of performances is prohibited without prior written approval from CCM.

> Notice of Nondiscrimination uc.edu/about/policies/non-discrimination

