

WIND SYMPHONY "EMERGING LIGHT"

Joel Puckett, guest composer
Catharine Carroll Lees, viola soloist
Pearce Nitta, graduate conductor
Ryle High School Wind Symphony, guest ensemble
Joe Craig and David Jump, music directors

Friday, April 19, 2024 Corbett Auditorium 7:30 p.m.



PROGRAM

RYLE HIGH SCHOOL WIND SYMPHONY

Symphonic Dances No. 3 ("Fiesta")

Clifton Williams (1923-1976)

Wayfaring Stranger

Traditional setting by Christopher Nelson

The Chimes of Liberty March

Edwin Franko Goldman (1878-1956) arr. Loras J. Schissel

CCM WIND SYMPHONY

D'un matin de printemps

Lili Boulanger (1893-1918) trans. Jack Hontz

Pearce Nitta, graduate conductor

It perched for vespers nine

Joel Puckett (b. 1977)

I wake in the dark and remember

Joel Puckett

I. Rain journey

II. I lie listening to the black hour

Catharine Carroll Lees, viola

Symphony No. 8

David Maslanka (1943-2017)

I. Moderate – Very Fast

II. Moderate

III. Moderate – Very Fast – Moderate – Very Fast

ROSTER

RYLE HIGH SCHOOL WIND SYMPHONY

Flute

Camille Kolar Macy Mitchell Ashley Nagel Grace Cole Amber Yorke Kathryn Clark

Oboe

Joe Mitchell Will Oertel Arjuna Lee

Bassoon

Sean Hayes Korey Royse

Clarinet

John Merryman Sara Merryman Themis Moreau Madeline Breig Evelyn Crome Ben Baker Natalie Goetz

Bass Clarinet

Callum Willoughby

Alto Saxophone

Avery Cobb Sam Yunker Will Lindeman Zak Simpson

Tenor Saxophone

Jesse Dominguez Vaughn Hatton

Baritone Saxophone

Rainn Sheehan

Horn

Joyce Chan Lily Wheatley Jayce Mullins Eden Proctor Olivia Rogers Reagan Barker Kaitlyn Bass

Trumpet

Charlie Smart
Ayden Bauereis
Ethan Southerland
Wendy Griffith
Delilah Waltz
Alex Towner
Brandon Nagel

Trombone

Vida Thwaites Sabrina Howard Max Tucker Cruz Mata Arvizu

Baritone

Dominic Rowen Ben Sorrell

Tuba

Gino Calipo Izzy Hines

Percussion

Justin Melvin Max Spjut AJ Ramsey Nick Sugimoto Aryan Chinthala Dylan Maley Braeden Brown Nate Petro

ROSTER

CCM WIND SYMPHONY

Flute

Joshua Benitez Maddie Choi Dayna Hagstedt Lauren Jett Isabella Saldaña

Oboe

Anna Lower Anish Pandit Ju Yeon Shin

Clarinet

lan Bunt
Owen Cheung
Kotaro Fujiwara
Logan Leister
Talor Marren
Casey McGuire
Clara Spears
Cindy Wang

Bassoon

Bailey Aber Chet Rhodes Evan Schultz

Saxophone

Joshua Herrera Dabin Jung Eli Stacey Tessa Stephens Andrew Strawn Seok Jun Yang

Horn

Justin Ciccone Anna Eberwine Natalie Sweasy Gilbert Trevino Duoran Wang

Trumpet

Jessica Barrick Zige Huang Joseph Keller Mason Kibble Austin Park Joseph Rau

Trombone

W.Dalton Hurst Sean LaRoy Declan Phelps Madison Smith

Bass Trombone

Jakob Larson

Euphonium

Kelley Ozier Isaac Slavens

Tuba

Chris Messinger Greg Preston

Bass

Kaleb Collins

Piano

Trinity Le

Harp

Madeline Arney

Percussion

Marie Conti Qiming Han Wyatt Hatch Justin Kulka Jacob Ottmer Nicholas Smith

IN THE WINGS

7 p.m. Monday, April 29 **Prep Series HOPE SPRINGS ETERNAL CCM Youth Wind Ensemble (CYWE)** Kevin Michael Holzman, music director and conductor **CCM Jr. Youth Wind Ensemble (Jr. CYWE)** Richard Canter, director

Celebrate the end of our year by joining us for an evening of inspiring performances! In partnership with CCM's collegiate Wind Studies and Music Education, CCM Prep presents the region's premier ensemble and musical training program for high school and middle school aged woodwind, brass and percussion students.

Estimated run time: 90 minutes **Location**: Corbett Auditorium

Admission: FRFF

Flash photography, video and audio recording of performances is prohibited without prior written approval from CCM.

Notice of Nondiscrimination uc.edu/about/policies/non-discrimination

