University of Cincinnati

Board of Trustees

Summary of Actions Taken at the Regular Meeting Held

March 18, 2008

The following is a list of recommendations approved by the Board of Trustees at their regular meeting held on March 18, 2008, and filed in the Office of the Board of Trustees. The recommendations are listed under the committee(s) that initially reviewed and approved them.

A. Academic and Student Affairs Committee

1. The Board of Trustees approved the granting of appointment and emeritus status to the faculty identified below:

Distinguished Teaching Professor Appointment

Rodney Roseman, PhD. Associate Professor of Materials Science, College of

Engineering

Distinguished Research Professor Appointment

Ephraim Gutmark, PhD. Professor of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering

Mechanics, College of Engineering and Ohio Eminent Scholar in Aerospace Engineering

Department Head Appointment

Sourushe Zandvakili, Ph.D. Department of Economics

McMicken College of Arts and Sciences

Effective: September 1, 2008, through August 31,

2013

Recommendation for Promotion from Associate Professor to Professor

(effective September 1, 2007)

McMicken College of Arts and Sciences

Christopher Phillips History Has Tenure

Emeritus Status

Peter Cardullias, Ed.D. Associate Professor Emeritus of Special Education

College of Education, Criminal Justice, and Human

Services

Effective: January 1, 2008

Elizabeth Gothelf, R.N. Field Service Professor Emerita in the Department of

Family Medicine, College of Medicine

Effective February 1, 2008

Edward Klein, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus of Psychology

McMicken College of Arts and Sciences

Effective: January 2, 2008

John Morrison, Ph.D. Research Professor Emeritus in the Department of

Pediatrics, College of Medicine Effective September 1, 2008

Robert Rinsky, Ph.D. Adjunct Professor Emeritus in the Department of

Pediatrics, College of Medicine Effective January 1, 2008

2. The Board of Trustees approved the full proposal of the new degree program of Master of Engineering in the College of Engineering. The Master of Engineering (MEng) designation is distinguished from the existing Master of Science (MS) degrees in the College of Engineering in that it will be a practice-based degree with no research thesis requirement.

3. The Board of Trustees approved the granting of appointments in the Fellows of the Graduate School to the faculty identified below, as elected February 22, 2008:

John Cuppoletti, PhD College of Medicine, Molecular & Cellular

Physiology

Joel. R. Fried, PhD College of Engineering, Chemical Engineering

Valerie Hardcastle, PhD McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Brian T. Meadows, PhD McMicken College of Arts & Sciences, Physics Alan J. Schwartz, PhD McMicken College of Arts & Sciences, Physics

Katherine Yutzey, PhD College of Medicine, Pediatrics

B. Finance and Administration Committee

- 1. The Board of Trustees approved a recommendation to implement the Tuition and Fee Schedule for the 2008-2009 Academic Year as follows: no tuition and fee increase for undergraduate students; a 2% increase to the instructional fee and nonresident surcharge for graduate and professional students; and an additional 2% increase for Medical students. The proposed 2008-2009 Tuition and Fee Schedule will be effective Summer Quarter 2008.
- 2. The Board of Trustees approved a recommendation to establish Room and Board rates for the 2008 2009 Academic Year. The requested rate increase, in combination with scheduled expense reductions, will allow Housing and Food Services to achieve a balanced budget and reduce its negative fund balance.
- 3. The Board of Trustees approved a recommendation to issue general receipts obligations or certificates of participation to refinance existing outstanding debt if reductions in debt service can be realized, or to react to market conditions, or to manage and/or improve the university's cash flow.
- 4. The Board of Trustees approved a recommendation for changes to certain University Rules to correspond to the recent administrative restructuring. The rule changes are designed to reflect the elimination of the position of Senior

Vice President and Provost for Health Affairs; the revision of the former position title of "Senior Vice President and Provost for Baccalaureate Education" to "Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost," the establishment of the new position of Vice President for Health Affairs and the reallocation of responsibilities formerly pertaining to the Senior Vice President and Provost for Health Affairs variously to the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost and the Vice Presidents for Research and Health Affairs.

- 5. The Board of Trustees approved a recommendation to amend Rule 50-77-26C to require that attempted credits from failed courses to be counted towards the 260 credit hour maximum used in determining a student's eligibility for a graduate award.
- 6. The Board of Trustees approved a recommendation to name the Academic Health Center Library as the Donald C. Harrison Health Sciences Library.

C. Regular Session (non-Committee) Item

1. The Board of Trustees approved the granting of Honorary Degrees and the Award for Excellence for the individuals named below:

Honorary Degree Candidates

William P. Wiesmann Brigman Owens Stan Herman

Award for Excellence Candidate

Milton C. Anderson

Copies of the minutes of the March 18, 2008 meeting will be published on the Board of Trustees Web page at the University of Cincinnati website after approval at the next meeting of the Board of Trustees.

March 18, 2008

Office of the Board of Trustees

^{*} Rules and rule changes will be effective only after filing with the state of Ohio and after the appropriate waiting period as required by state law. Copies of the rules with effective dates are published on the University of Cincinnati Website.