University of Cincinnati

Board of Trustees

Summary of Actions Taken at the Regular Meeting Held

June 24, 2008

The following is a list of recommendations approved by the Board of Trustees at their regular meeting held on June 24, 2008, and filed in the Office of the Board of Trustees. The recommendations are listed under the committee(s) that initially reviewed and approved them.

A. Academic and Student Affairs Committee

1. The Board of Trustees approved the following faculty for promotion effective September 1, 2008:

FROM ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR TO PROFESSOR

Raymond Walters College

Edward Bradel Biological Sciences Has Tenure
Diana Feibel Behavioral Sciences Has Tenure

2. The Board of Trustees approved appointment, promotion, or emeritus status to the following faculty members:

Dean Appointment

Robert Probst, MFA College of Design, Architecture, Art, and Planning

Effective: July 1, 2008, through June 30, 2013

Head Appointment

Ralph Katerberg, PhD Department of Management

College of Business

Effective: September 1, 2008, through August 31, 2012

Teresa C. Sabourin, PhD Department of Communication

McMicken College of Arts and Sciences

Effective: September 1, 2008, through August 31, 2013

Tenure Appointment

John L. Glascock, PhD Professor with Tenure

Department of Finance College of Business Effective: July 1, 2008

Emeritus Status

Judith A. Baughin, MA

Professor Emerita of Romance Languages

Raymond Walters College Effective: August 31, 2008

Rene Boyer, EdD Professor Emerita of Music Education

College-Conservatory of Music Effective: September 1, 2008

Yi-Qi Zhou Cheng Associate Professor Emerita of Dance

College-Conservatory of Music Effective: September 1, 2008

Joe W. Fisher, PhD Professor Emeritus of Mathematical Sciences

McMicken College of Arts and Sciences

Effective: September 1, 2008

Edward S. Grood, PhD Professor Emeritus of Biomedical Engineering

College of Engineering Effective: September 1, 2008

John E. Grover, PhD Professor Emeritus of Geology

McMicken College of Arts and Sciences

Effective: September 1, 2008

Laura W. Kretschmer, EdD Professor Emerita of Audiology

College of Allied Health Sciences Effective: September 1, 2008

Michael C. Miller, PhD Professor Emeritus of Biological Sciences

McMicken College of Arts and Sciences

Effective: September 1, 2008

Edward C. Nowacki, PhD Professor Emeritus of Musicology

College-Conservatory of Music Effective: September 1, 2008

Richard L. Shell, PhD Professor Emeritus of Industrial Engineering

College of Engineering Effective: July 1, 2008

Wim J. van Ooij, PhD Professor Emeritus of Materials Engineering

College of Engineering Effective: September 1, 2008

Steven Waxler, MFA Professor Emeritus of Theater Design and Production

College-Conservatory of Music Effective: September 1, 2008

3. The Board of Trustees approved the following faculty for induction in to the Academy of Fellows for Teaching and Learning:

Christine Colella, Associate Professor of Clinical Nursing, College of Nursing Janice Denton, Professor of Chemistry, Raymond Walters College Kimberly Jacobs-Beck, Assistant Professor of English, Clermont College Suzanne Masterson, Associate Professor of Management, College of Business

- 4. The Board of Trustees approved that the appointment of Dr. Peter Stern, Professor and Chair, Department of Orthopedic Surgery in the College of Medicine be extended for three years, through August 31, 2012.
- 5. The Board of Trustees approved the dissolution of the Institute for the Study of Health effective June 30, 2008.
- 6. The Board of Trustees approved the establishment of a new Department of Radiation Oncology, in the College of Medicine, effective July 1, 2008; and the appointment of Dr. William Barrett, Professor of Clinical Radiology as the inaugural Department Director.

B. Finance and Administration Committee

- 1. The Board of Trustees approved the amendment to University Rule 20-41-03* authorizing Chief Investment Officer to delegate authority to approve and execute contracts.
- 2. The Board of Trustees approved the FY 2008-2009 Current Funds Budget Including Compensation Increases.
- 3. The Board of Trustees approved the Capital Budge for Fiscal Year 2008-2009.

C. Compensation Subcommittee

1. The Board of Trustees approved the President's Compensation.

Copies of the minutes of the June 24, 2008, meeting will be published on the Board of Trustees web page at the University of Cincinnati website after approval at the next meeting of the Board of Trustees.

June 24, 2008

Office of the Board of Trustees

effective dates are published on the University of Cincinnati website.

^{*} Rules and rule changes will be effective only after filing with the state of Ohio and after the appropriate waiting period as required by state law. Copies of the rules with