University of Cincinnati

Board of Trustees

Summary of Actions Taken at the Regular Meeting Held

June 23, 2009

The following is a list of recommendations approved by the Board of Trustees at their regular meeting held on June 23, 2009, and filed in the Office of the Board of Trustees. The recommendations are listed under the committee(s) that initially reviewed and approved them.

A. Academic and Student Affairs Committee

1. The Board of Trustees approved the following academic appointments and actions:

Appointment

Prabir Bhattacharya, PhD Professor with Tenure of Computer Science

Head of the Computer Science Department

College of Engineering

Effective: September 1, 2009 - August 31, 2014

Myriam Chancy, PhD Professor with Tenure of English

Department of English and Comparative Literature

McMicken College of Arts and Sciences

Effective: September 1, 2009

Maria Melanson, MD

Sclerosis

Virgilee and Oliver Waddell Chair in Multiple

Department of Neurology College of Medicine

Effective: June 1, 2009 – August 31, 2010

Lewis Owen, PhD Department Head, Department of Geology

McMicken College of Arts and Sciences

Effective: September 1, 2009 – August 31, 2014

Emeritus Status

Dennis Mann, MArch Professor Emeritus of Architecture

College of Design, Architecture, Art, and Planning

Effective: September 1, 2009

Albert Muhleman, MD Professor Emeritus of Clinical Medicine

College of Medicine Effective: July 1, 2009 Panapakkam Ramamoorthy, PhD Professor Emeritus of Electrical and Computer

Engineering

College of Engineering Effective: August 31, 2009

Fred Siff, PhD Professor Emeritus of Information Systems

College of Business Effective: July 1, 2009

Administrative Leave

Willard McIntosh, PhD Dean of the College of Business

Effective: July 1, 2009 – June 30, 2010

2. The Board of Trustees approved the promotion and/or or tenure to the following:

FROM ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR TO PROFESSOR

College of Education, Criminal Justice, and Human Services

Mei Tang Counseling Has Tenure

College of Medicine

Timothy Broderick Surgery Without Tenure Robert Cohen Internal Medicine Has Tenure James Greenberg **Pediatrics** Has Tenure Timothy Hewett Has Tenure **Pediatrics** Xinhua Lin Has Tenure **Pediatrics** David Steward Otolaryngology With Tenure Matthias Tschoep Psychiatry Has Tenure Susan Waltz Cancer and Cell Biology Has Tenure

College of Nursing

Amy Pettigrew Nursing Has Tenure

FROM ASSISTANT PROFESSOR TO ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

College of Medicine

Charles Caldwell Surgery With Tenure
Andrew Herr Mol Gen, Bioch & Microbio With Tenure

TENURE ONLY

College of Medicine

John Greinwald, Associate Professor of Otolaryngology Min Liu, Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine Jerzy Szaflarski, Associate Professor of Neurology Ervin Steve Woodle, Professor of Surgery Daniel Woo, Associate Professor of Neurology

- 3. The Board of Trustees approved the establishment of the Department of Biomedical Informatics in the College of Medicine.
- 4. The Board of Trustees approved the following faculty for induction into the Academy of Fellows for Teaching and Learning:

Andrea Dixon, Associate Professor of Marketing, College of Business; Robert Endorf, Professor of Physics, McMicken College of Arts and Sciences; Keith King, Associate Professor of Health Promotion & Education, College of Education, Criminal Justice, and Human Services;

Marianne Lewis, Associate Professor of Management, College of Business; Robin Lightner, Associate Professor of Behavioral Sciences, Raymond Walters College; Glenn Markle, Professor of Teacher Education, College of Education, Criminal Justice, and Human Services;

bruce mcclung, Associate Professor of Comp Musicology & Theory, College-Conservatory of Music;

Lynn Ritchey, Professor of Behavioral Sciences, Raymond Walters College; and Frank Wray, Associate Professor of Biology, Raymond Walters College

5. The Board of Trustees approved the USO Centers of Excellence for the University of Cincinnati's Institutional Report to be submitted to the Ohio Board of Regents.

B. Finance and Administration Committee

- 1. The Board of Trustees approved the recommendation to continue the FY 2008-2009 Budget into FY 2009-2010.
- 2. The Board of Trustees approved the Capital Budget for Fiscal Year 2009-2010.

Copies of the minutes of the June 23, 2009, meeting will be published on the Board of Trustees web page at the University of Cincinnati website after approval at the next meeting of the Board of Trustees.

June 23, 2009

Office of the Board of Trustees