University of Cincinnati

Board of Trustees

Summary of Actions Taken at the Regular Meeting Held

September 22, 2009

The following is a list of recommendations approved by the Board of Trustees at their regular meeting held on September 22, 2009, and filed in the Office of the Board of Trustees. The recommendations are listed under the committee(s) that initially reviewed and approved them.

A. Academic and Student Affairs Committee

1. The Board of Trustees approved the following academic appointments and actions:

Appointments

Yong Kim, PhD Head, Department of Finance

College of Business

Effective: September 1, 2009 through August 31,

2013

Kay Kinoshita, PhD Department Head

Department of Physics

McMicken College of Arts and Sciences

Effective: September 1, 2009 through August 31,

2014

Gila Safran-Naveh, PhD Jewish Foundation Endowed Chair of Judaic Studies

Department Head of Judaic Studies McMicken College of Arts and Sciences

Effective: June 1, 2009 through August 31, 2013

Robert A. Skipper, PhD Department Head

Department of Philosophy

McMicken College of Arts and Sciences

Effective: September 1, 2009 through August 31,

2014

Reappointments

Daniel Acosta, PhD Dean

Winkle College of Pharmacy

Effective: November 1, 2010 through August 31,

2014

Louis Bilionis, JD Dean

College of Law

Effective: July 1, 2010 through August 31, 2015

Mark Harris, PhD Director

School of Art

College of Design, Architecture, Art, and Planning Effective: September 1, 2009 through August 31,

2012

Lawrence Johnson, PhD Dean

College of Education, Criminal Justice, and Human

Services

Effective: July 1, 2010 through August 31, 2015

Tenure

Michael L. Clemons, PhD Associate Professor with Tenure

Department of Africana Studies

McMicken College of Arts and Sciences

Effective: January 1, 2010

Gregory H. Williams,

PhD, JD

Professor of Law with Tenure

Professor of Political Science with Tenure

Effective: November 1, 2009

Administrative Leave

Richard Newrock, PhD Dean

College of Applied Science

Effective: July 1, 2009 through June 30, 2010

Emeritus Status

Joseph F. Bottoni, MA

Professor Emeritus of Design

College of Design, Architecture, Art, and Planning

Effective: September 1, 2009

Linda Bricker, MBA Associate Professor Emerita of Management

Raymond Walters College Effective: September 1, 2009

Joyce M. Callan, MBA Professor Emerita of Management

Raymond Walters College Effective: September 1, 2009

Louise A. Flavin, PhD Professor Emerita of English

Raymond Walters College Effective: September 1, 2009

Warren E. George, PhD Emeritus Associate Dean

College-Conservatory of Music Effective: October 1, 2009

Alan Oestreich, MD Professor Emeritus

Department of Radiology College of Medicine

Effective: September 16, 2009

Ralph E. Pommering, MBA Assistant Professor Emeritus of Management

Raymond Walters College Effective: September 1, 2009 Richard L. Ward, PhD Adjunct Research Professor Emeritus

Department of Pediatrics College of Medicine Effective: August 16, 2009

2. The Board of Trustees approved the promotion and/or or tenure to the following:

FROM ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR TO PROFESSOR

College of Applied Science

Harry Prats Has Tenure

FROM ASSOCIATE LIBRARIAN TO ASSOCIATE SENIOR LIBRARIAN

University Library

Ted Baldwin With Tenure Lorna Newman With Tenure

FROM ASSISTANT PROFESSOR TO ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

College-Conservatory of Music

Michele Kay With Tenure
Ann Porter With Tenure

3. The Board of Trustees approved the merger of the College of Engineering and the College of Applied Science

B. Finance and Administration Committee

- 1. The Board of Trustees approved the Sander Classroom Renovations authorizing the issuance of General Receipt Obligations not to exceed \$5,900,000.
- 2. The Board of Trustees approved the Procter Hall Façade Replacement authorizing the issuance of General Receipt Obligations not to exceed \$4,700,000.
- 3. The Board of Trustees approved a resolution amending the original authorization, designation and purpose of Morgens Residence Hall Upgrades and Scioto Residence Hall Upgrade resolution authorizing the issuance of General Receipts Obligations for the safety, fire suppression and other improvements to Morgens Hall and Scioto Hall.

- 4. The Board of Trustees approved the Appointments and Reappointments to the Board of Trustees of TechSolve, Inc.
- 5. The Board of Trustees ratified and amendment to Head Men's Basketball Coach Mick Cronin's contract which extend his employment for two years to the end of the 2013-2014 basketball season.
- 6. The Board of Trustees authorized a permanent and temporary utility easement in exchange for \$25,452.00 to the City of Cincinnati to permit the installation and maintenance of sanitary and storm water sewers across the campus of the College of Applied Science.
- 7. The Board of Trustees rejected the Fact Finder's Recommendation in the Matter of Negotiations between the University and the Fraternal Order of Police (Security Officers Unit).
- 8. The Board of Trustees approved the naming of the University of Cincinnati Institute for Military Medicine.
- 9. The Board of Trustees approved the naming of the James and Kathryn McDonough Hall.
- 10. The Board of Trustees approved the naming of the UC Reading Campus and the Metabolic Diseases Institute.
- 11. The Board of Trustees approved the naming of the Frances A. Raschig Human Performance Lab.
- 12. The Board of Trustees authorized the Senior Vice President for Administration and Finance to establish the University's External Debt Policy.
- 13. The Board of Trustees approved the Undergraduate Tuition Increase and Waiver.
- 14. The Board of Trustees approved Electric Service Agreement with Duke Energy Ohio, Inc., transferring the University from billing rate DP and providing revenues from the sale of Renewable Energy Credits and available generation capacity.
- 15. The Board of Trustees approved to call for support by the U.S. Department of Transportation and the Federal Rail Administration for the State of Ohio's stimulus funding request for Ohio's 3C "Quick Start" Passenger Rail Plan.

C. Regular Session (Non-Committee) Item

1. The Board of Trustees approved the nominations of Phillip A. Cox, Faith Prince and Richard E. Thornburgh to receive honorary degrees.

Copies of the minutes of the September 22, 2009, meeting will be published on the Board of Trustees web page at the University of Cincinnati website after approval at the next meeting of the Board of Trustees.

September 22, 2009

Office of the Board of Trustees