University of Cincinnati

Board of Trustees

Summary of Actions Taken at the Regular Meeting Held

March 15, 2011

The following is a list of recommendations approved by the Board of Trustees at their regular meeting held on March 15, 2011 and filed in the Office of the Board of Trustees. The recommendations are listed under the committee(s) that initially reviewed and approved them.

A. Academic and Student Affairs Committee

1. The Board of Trustees approved the appointment, reappointment, tenure, leave of absence, or emeritus status to the following:

Appointments

Charles E. Jones, Ph.D. Professor with Tenure in the Department of Africana Studies

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Effective: September 1, 2011

Emeritus Status

Lanthan D. Camblin, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus in the Department of Educational Studies

College of Education, Criminal Justice and Human Services

Effective: September 1, 2011

Hae Soo Chung, MSN Professor Emerita of Nursing

College of Nursing

Effective: September 1, 2010

Horacio Falciglia, M.D. Professor Emeritus in the Department of Pediatrics

College of Medicine Effective: July 1, 2011

James Hall, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus in the Department of English

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Effective: September 1, 2011

Wallace Ip, M.D. Professor Emeritus in the Department of Cancer and Cell Biology

College of Medicine Effective: February 1, 2011

Glen Markle, EdD Professor Emeritus in the Department Teacher Education

College of Education, Criminal Justice and Human Services

Effective: September 01, 2011

Hilda Smith, Ph.D. Professor Emerita in the Department of History

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Effective: July 1, 2011

Howard Tolley, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus in the Department of Political Science

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Effective: July 1, 2011

2. The Board of Trustees approved the appointment of George Suckarieh, Professor of Advance Structures in the College of Engineering and Applied Science, as Distinguished Teaching Professor.

- 3. The Board of Trustees approved the appointment of Jay Lee, Ohio Eminent Scholar and L.W. Scott Alter Chair Professor in Advanced Manufacturing, School of Dynamic Systems in the College of Engineering and Applied Science, as Distinguished Research Professor.
- 4. The board of Trustees approved the appointment for membership in the Fellows of the Graduate School to the following:

Nicholas Dunning, PhD Department of Geography

McMicken College of Arts and Sciences

Bonnie Fisher, PhD Department of Criminal Justice

College of Education, Criminal Justice, and Human Services

Janet Graden, PhD Department of Human Services

College of Education, Criminal Justice, and Human Services

Kenneth Hinkel, PhD Department of Geography

McMicken College of Arts and Sciences

Shuk-Mei Ho, PhD Department of Environmental Health

College of Medicine

Milind Jog, PhD Department of Mechanical Engineering

College of Engineering and Applied Science

David Kelton, PhD Department of Quantitative Analysis and Operations

Management College of Business

Edward Latessa, PhD Department of Criminal Justice

College of Education, Criminal Justice, and Human Services

S. Steven Potter, PhD Department of Pediatrics

College of Medicine

Joseph Tomain, JD College of Law

B. Finance and Administration Committee

1. The Board of Trustees approved the naming of the John Hauck Foundation Gallery located in the Medical Science Building, R006.

- 2. The Board of Trustees approved the naming of the Michael and Margaret Valentine Basketball Suite at the Richard E. Lindner Athletic Center, Room 680
- 3. The Board of Trustees approved the naming of the Jeffrey L. Wyler Ticket Office located at the Richard E. Lindner Athletic Center, Suite 480.
- 4. The Board of Trustees approved the Mutual Assistance Agreement between the Clermont County Sheriff and the University of Cincinnati.
- 5. The Board of Trustees approved an increase in the amount for the Sheakley Athletics project in the amount of \$4.2 million. Athletics has accepted all financial responsibility for the project.
- 6. The Board of Trustees approved the Athletics Facilities Concessions Contract with Aramark.
- 7. The Board of Trustees approved the Room and Board Rates for 2011-2012 Academic Year.
- 8. The Board of Trustees approved a resolution updating the list of individuals authorized to sign/countersign checks and initiate/verify electronic funds transfers.

C. Regular Session (Non-Committee) Item

1. The Board of Trustees approved the recommendation to approve the nomination of the individuals named below for the Honorary Degree or Award for Excellence:

Nominees for the Honorary Degree

John F. Barrett Eugene P. Ruehlmann Jeffrey L. Wyler

Nominee for the Award for Excellence

John C. Procario

Copies of the minutes of March 15, 2011 meeting will be published on the Board of Trustees web page at the University of Cincinnati website after approval at the next meeting of the Board of Trustees.

March 15, 2011

Office of the Board of Trustees