University of Cincinnati

Board of Trustees

Summary of Actions Taken at the Regular Meeting Held

May 24, 2011

The following is a list of recommendations approved by the Board of Trustees at their regular meeting held on May 24, 2011 and filed in the Office of the Board of Trustees. The recommendations are listed under the committee(s) that initially reviewed and approved them.

A. Academic and Student Affairs Committee

1. The Board of Trustees approved the appointment, reappointment, tenure, leave of absence, or emeritus status to the following:

Appointment

Chris Bachelder Associate Professor of English with Tenure

College of Arts & Sciences Effective September 1, 2011

Department Director Appointment

Ed Latessa, Ph.D. Director of the School of Criminal Justice

College of Criminal Justice, Education and Human Services Effective September 1, 2010 through September 1, 2015

Philip M. Diller, M.D., Ph.D. Director and Fred Lazarus, Jr. Professor

Department of Family and Community Medicine Effective March 31, 2011 through August 31, 2018

Endowed Chair Appointment

W. John Kitzmiller, M.D. Henry W. and Margaret C. Neale Endowed Chair in Plastic

and Reconstructive Surgery Department of Surgery College of Medicine Effective May 1, 2011

Fredy J. Revilla, M.D. James J. and Joan A. Gardner Family Center for Parkinson's

Disease & Movement Disorders Endowed Chair

Department of Neurology College of Medicine Effective June 1, 2011

Alan George Smulian, M.B.B.Ch. Ward E. Bullock Endowed Chair for

Research & Education in Infectious Disease

Department of Internal Medicine

College of Medicine Effective May 1, 2011 Amy M. Thompson, M.D. Clarence R. McLain, Jr., M.D. Endowed Chair for Medical

Student Education

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

College of Medicine Effective June 1, 2011

Endowed Chair Appointment Extension

Maria Melanson, M.D. The Virgilee and Oliver Waddell Endowed Chair in

Multiple Sclerosis

Department of Neurology, College of Medicine Extended indefinitely beginning September 1, 2010

Emeritus Status

Charles H. Seibert Professor Emeritus

Department of Philosophy

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Effective July 1, 2011

Daniel Tsui Associate Professor Emeritus

Department of Biology Raymond Walters College Effective September 1, 2010

Elise Goodman Professor Emerita

Department of History, Art History, Philosophy and Political

Science

Raymond Walters College Effective September 1, 2011

Gisela Walberg Professor Emerita

Department of Classics

McMicken College of Arts and Sciences

Effective September 1, 2011

Janelle Schierling Professor Emerita

Department of Dental Hygiene Raymond Walters College Effective September 1, 2011

Lizabeth Wing Professor Emerita

CCM Department of Music Education

Effective September 1, 2011

Makram Suidan Professor Emeritus

CEAS SEEMBE Effective March 1, 2011

Mary Herrmann Professor Emerita

Department of Chemistry Raymond Walters College Effective September 1, 2011 Mary Jane Bradley Associate Professor Emerita

Department of Nursing Raymond Walters College Effective September 1, 2011

Patricia A. Schlecht Associate Professor Emerita

Department of Nursing Raymond Walters College Effective September 1, 2011

Paul L. Bishop Professor Emeritus

CEAS

School of Energy, Environmental, Biological and Medical

Engineering

Effective April 13, 2011

Piyush Swami Professor Emeritus

CECH School of Education Effective April 1, 2011

Raymond H. Matlock Associate Professor Emeritus

Department of Legal Studies

College of Business Effective June 1, 2011

Rodney Winther Professor Emeritus

CCM Department of Wind Studies Effective September 1, 2011

Sara Fredrichsmeyer Professor Emerita

Department of German Studies

McMicken College of Arts and Sciences

Effective September 1, 2011

Susan Wilkinson Associate Professor Emerita

Hoxworth Blood Center, Clinical Transfusion Medicine

College of Medicine Effective July 1, 2011

Wayne F. Conrad Professor Emeritus

Department of Pharmacy Practice and Administrative Services

James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy

Effective September 1, 2011

Department Head

Steve Depoe Department of Communication

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Effective September 1, 2011 through August 31, 2016

Julie Gill Department of Allied Health

Raymond Walters College

Effective September 1, 2012 through August 31, 2017

Lynn Ritchey Department of Behavioral Science

Raymond Walters College

Effective September 1, 2011 through August 31, 2014

Mary Kaye Scaramucci Department of Dental Hygiene

Raymond Walters College

Effective September 1, 2011 through August 31, 2014

Philip Luther Department of English and Communication

Raymond Walters College

Effective September 1, 2011 through August 31, 2014

Tina Whalen Department of Rehabilitation Sciences

College of Allied Health Sciences

Effective September 1, 2012 through August 31, 2017

Ann Porter Department of Music Education Division

College Conservatory of Music

Effective September 1, 2011 through August 31, 2016

2. The Board of Trustees approved the following faculty for induction into the Academy of Fellows for Teaching & Learning:

Anne Bauer, Professor of Teacher Education, CECH

Elaine Hollensbe, Associate Professor of Management, COB

Brenda Refaei, Assistant Professor of English, RWC

Michael Romanos, Professor of Planning and Economic Development, School of

Planning, DAAP

Sue Sipple, Associate Professor of English, Raymond Walters College George Suckarieh, Professor of Construction Management, CEAS

3. The Board of Trustees approved the reorganization of the College of Allied Health Sciences.

B. Finance and Administration Committee

- 1. The Board of Trustees approved the appointment of Thomas F. Boat, MD, as Dean for the College of Medicine and Vice President for Health Affairs.
- 2. The Board of Trustees approved the Tuition and Fee Schedules for the Academic Year 2011-2012.
- 3. The Board of Trustees approved the naming of the *Vincent Lighting Systems Classroom* located at 1460 Corbett Center for the Performing Arts.
- 4. The Board of Trustees approved the naming of *The Advancement of Academic Emergency Medicine Endowed Chair*.
- 5. The Board of Trustees approved the naming of the *Harold C. Schott Endowed Brain Tumor Molecular Therapeutics Chair*.

- 6. The Board of Trustees approved the naming of the *Henry W. and Margaret C. Neale Endowed Chair in Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery.*
- 7. The Board of Trustees approved the naming of the Ward E. Bullock Endowed Chair in Infectious Diseases.
- 8. The Board of Trustees approved naming of the *University of Cincinnati Bike Kitchen*.
- 9. The Board of Trustees approved a contract for university office supplies with Guy Brown Express LLC, (JV) and Office Max Incorporated.
- 10. The Board of Trustees approved an amendment to the Restated Code of Regulations of University of Cincinnati Physicians, Inc.
- 11. The Board of Trustees approved the transfer of \$7.3 million of debt funds originally approved for the Energy Savings Phase 3 projects to the Primary Electric Substation project to be located on the Duke Energy Rochelle Substation property that borders the university's Central Utility Plant.
- 12. The Board of Trustees approved \$5,996,175 to be funded for the Alumni Engineering Learning Center in Rhodes Hall.
- 13. The Board of Trustees approved a resolution designating university officers and officials to serve as representatives of the University on outside boards for insurance and indemnification purposes.

Copies of the minutes of May 24, 2011 meeting will be published on the Board of Trustees web page at the University of Cincinnati website after approval at the next meeting of the Board of Trustees.

May 24, 2011

Office of the Board of Trustees