University of Cincinnati

Board of Trustees

Summary of Actions Taken at the Regular Meeting Held

September 20, 2011

The following is a list of recommendations approved by the Board of Trustees at their regular meeting held on September 20, 2011 and filed in the Office of the Board of Trustees. The recommendations are listed under the committee(s) that initially reviewed and approved them.

A. Academic and Student Affairs Committee

1. The Board of Trustees approved appointment, promotion, or emeritus status to the following faculty members:

Dean Appointment

Greer Glazer, PhD Dean

College of Nursing

Schmidlapp Professor of Nursing (with Tenure) Effective: January 1, 2012 through December 31, 2016

Peter Landgren Dean

College-Conservatory of Music

Thomas James Kelly Professor of Music (with Tenure) Effective: September 1, 2011 through August 31, 2016

Academic Unit Head Appointments

Shellie Cash Division Head

Dance Division

College-Conservatory of Music

Effective: September 1, 2012 through August 31, 2016

Grace Falciglia Department Head

Department of Nutritional Sciences College of Allied Health Sciences

Effective: September 1, 2012 through August 31, 2017

Shuk-Mei Ho Department Director

Department of Environmental Health

College of Medicine

Effective: September 1, 2012 through August 31, 2019

Summary of Actions Taken Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees September 20, 2011

Steven Howe Department Head

Department of Psychology

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Effective: September 1, 2011 through August 31, 2015

Gerald Kasting Division Chair

Division of Pharmaceutical Sciences The James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy

Effective: September 1, 2011 through August 31, 2015

Karen Machleit Department Head

Department of Marketing

Carl H. Lindner College of Business

Effective: September 1, 2012 through August 31, 2015

Marshall Montrose Department Director

Department of Molecular and Cellular Physiology

College of Medicine

Effective: September 1, 2011 through August 31, 2016

Michael Sander Academic Unit Head

Department of Electronic Media

Blue Ash College

Effective: September 1, 2011 through August 31, 2014

Kenneth Petren Department Head

Department of Biological Sciences McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Effective: September 1, 2011 through August 31, 2016

New Faculty Appointments

Hanna Hall Associate Professor of Design (with tenure)

School of Design, Architecture, Art, and Planning

Effective: September 1, 2011

Julia Heath Professor of Economics (with tenure)

Carl H. Lindner College of Business

Effective: March 1, 2012

Charles Jones Professor of Africana Studies (with tenure)

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Effective: September 1, 2011

Emeritus / Emerita Appointments

Arlene Elder Professor Emerita of Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Effective: January 1, 2012

Janet Heasman Professor Emerita of Pediatrics

College of Medicine

Effective: November 1, 2011

Anthony Leung Professor Emeritus of Mathematical Studies

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Effective: January 1, 2012

George Marketos Associate Professor Emeritus of Mathematical Studies

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Effective: January 1, 2012

Sandra McGlasson Associate Professor Emerita

Division of Professional Practice Effective: September 1, 2011

Anthony Perzigian Provost Emeritus of the University of Cincinnati

and Professor Emeritus of Anthropology McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Effective: September 1, 2011

Frank Weinstock Professor Emeritus of Keyboard Studies

College-Conservatory of Music Effective: September 1, 2011

Barbara Wenner Associate Professor Emerita of English and Comparative

Literature

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Effective: January 1, 2012

Cornelia Wilson Professor Emerita

College of Nursing

Effective: September 1, 2011

- 2. The Board of Trustees approved an administrative leave for Victoria A. Montavon, Dean and University Librarian, from September 1, 2012 through August 31, 2013.
- 3. The Board of Trustees approved a new degree program in the College of Allied Health Sciences for a Master of Health Informatics.
- 4. The Board of Trustees approved a new undergraduate degree program in the College-Conservatory of Music for a Bachelor of Commercial Music Production.
- 5. The Board of Trustees approved a new undergraduate degree program in the College of Education, Criminal Justice, and Human Services for a Bachelor of Signed Language Interpreting.
- 6. The Board of Trustees approved the modification the current eligibility requirement for the David Sinton Professorship to permit other well qualified tenured or tenure-track faculty members in the Department of Economics to hold this title.

- 7. The Board of Trustees approved a department merger and name change in the Lindner College of Business effective July 1, 2011: 1) the merger of the Department of Information Systems and the Department Operations & Business Analytics; and 2) the subsequent name change to the Department of Operations, Business Analytics, and Information Systems.
- 8. The Board of Trustees approved an academic reorganization at UC Blue Ash effective July 1, 2011: 1) The Department of Office Information Technology will join the Department of Business and Economics; 2) The Medical Assisting Services and Medical Billing Technology programs will join the Department of Allied Health; 3) the Radiation Therapy program will join the Department of Allied Health; and 4) Electronic Media Communications will become an Academic Unit.

B. Finance and Administration Committee

- 1. The Board of Trustees approved a recommendation to identify the individuals authorized to sign/countersign checks (manual and automated) and approve electronic funds transfers related to university payment to external parties.
- 2. The Board of Trustees approved a revision to Rule* 3361: 10-5-14 Organization: Treasurer to indicate the Treasurer will report directly to the Vice President for Finance.
- 3. The Board of Trustees approved the amendment of University Rules* 20-41-01 and 20-41-03 to improve oversight of the Temporary Investment Pool ("TIP") and increase the efficiency and integrity of investment management practices for both the Endowment assets and TIP funds.
- 4. The Board of Trustees authorized the purchase of a two-story concrete building containing 210,000 square feet on 14.1 acres in Hamilton County to replace the Campus Service Building.
- 5. The Board of Trustees approved the Lease of approximately 40,000 square feet of professional office space to be developed by U Square, LLC as part of the mixed-use development known as U Square @ the Loop, for relocation of and use by non-academic units to free up swing space on campus and allow for renovation of aging academic buildings subject to the satisfactory resolution and approval by the Board of Trustees of all contingent project issues.

C. Compensation Subcommittee

1. The Board of Trustees approved the President's Compensation.

D. Regular Session (Non-Committee) Item

1. The Board of Trustees approved the nomination of H. C. Buck Niehoff for the Honorary Degree.

Copies of the minutes of the September 20, 2011 meeting will be published on the Board of Trustees web page at the University of Cincinnati website after approval at the next meeting of the Board of Trustees.

September 20, 2011
Office of the Board of Trustees

* Rules and rule changes will be effective only after filing with the state of Ohio and after the appropriate waiting period as required by state law. Copies of the rules with effective dates are published on the University of Cincinnati website.