University of Cincinnati Board of Trustees Summary of Actions Taken at the Regular Meeting Held

March 27, 2012

The following is a list of recommendations approved by the Board of Trustees at their regular meeting held on March 27, 2012 and filed in the Office of the Board of Trustees. The recommendations are listed under the committee(s) that initially reviewed and approved them.

A. Academic and Student Affairs Committee

1. The Board of Trustees approved the appointment, reappointment, tenure, leave of absence, or emeritus status to the following:

Emeritus/Emerita Appointments

T. David Evans, Ph.D. Associate Professor Educator Emeritus of Sociology

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Effective: September 1, 2011

David Meyer, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus of Geology

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Effective: August 15, 2012

Edgar Slotkin, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus of English & Comparative Literature

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Effective: August 15, 2012

Roger Selya, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus of Geography

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Effective: August 15, 2012

James Osterburg, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus of Mathematical Sciences

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Effective: August 15, 2012

James Deddens, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus of Mathematical Sciences

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Effective: August 15, 2012

Raj Singh, Sc.D. Professor Emeritus of Material Sciences & Engineering

College of Engineering & Applied Science

Effective: March 27, 2012

Lou Ann Emerson, Ph.D. Associate Professor Emerita of Nursing

College of Nursing

Effective: September 1, 2011

Steven Hoath, M.D. Professor Emeritus of Pediatrics

College of Medicine Effective: March 15, 2012

John Michaels, Ph.D. Associate Professor Emeritus of Medical Education

College of Medicine Effective: March 1, 2012

Judith Rhodes, Ph.D. Professor Emerita of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine

College of Medicine Effective: July 1, 2012

Peter Walzer, M.D. Professor Emeritus of Internal Medicine

College of Medicine Effective: April 2, 2012

New Faculty Appointments

Barbara Burrell Associate Professor of Classics (with tenure)

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Effective: August 15, 2012

2. The Board of Trustees approved the appointment of Marc Cahay, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering in the College of Engineering and Applied Science, as Distinguished Teaching Professor.

3. The Board of Trustees approved the following faculty for induction into the Academy of Fellows for Teaching & Learning:

Victoria Appatova Assistant Professor of English

UC Clermont

Shauna Buring Associate Professor of Clinical

The James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy

Sarai Hedges Associate Professor of Human Services

College of Education, Criminal Justice, and

Human Services

Todd Herzog Associate Professor of German Studies

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Rita Kumar Associate Professor of English &

Communications UC Blue Ash

Rebecca Leugers Associate Professor of Rehabilitation

Sciences

College of Allied Health Sciences

Lisa Meloncon Assistant Professor of English &

Comparative Literature

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Rajiv Soman Professor of Chemical Engineering

College of Engineering and Applied Science

Tina Weitkamp Associate Professor of Clinical

College of Nursing

4. The board of Trustees approved the appointment for membership in the Fellows of the Graduate School to the following:

Kenneth Campbell Professor of Pediatrics

College of Medicine

George Deepe, Jr. Professor of Medicine

College of Medicine

Ranjan Deka Professor of Environmental Health

College of Medicine

Katharina Gerstenberger Professor of German Studies

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Anna Gudmundsdottir Professor of Chemistry

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

John Hancock Professor of Architecture

DAAP

Gui-Rong Liu Professor of Aerospace Engineering

(Ohio Eminent Scholar)

College of Engineering and Applied Science

Santa Ono Professor of Pediatrics and Biology

Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

and Provost

Richard Paul Professor of Molecular and Cellular

Physiology

College of Medicine

Michael Riley Professor of Psychology

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

Guy Van Orden Professor of Psychology

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

James Wells Associate Professor of Pediatrics

College of Medicine

Susanne Wells Associate Professor of Pediatrics

College of Medicine

Aaron Zorn

Associate Professor of Pediatrics College of Medicine

B. Finance and Administration Committee

- 1. The Board of Trustees approved the amendment to University Rule 3361: 30-21-05 regarding nepotism in employment.
- 2. The Board of Trustees approved the adoption of a new university rule requiring the reporting of employees' outside activities (Rule 3361:30-21-02) and the amendments to university rules 3361:30-21-02 and 3361:30-21-03 codifying the current practice of securing approval for collateral employment by submitted and outside activity report.
- 3. The Board of Trustees approved the establishment of an off site dual enrollment rate for high school students.
- 4. The Board of Trustees approved the tentative agreement between the University and the Fraternal Order of Police, Security Officers Unit.
- 5. The Board of Trustees approved the Tuition and Fee Schedules for the Academic Years 2012-13.
- 6. The Board of Trustees approved the Room and Board Rates for 2012-2013 Academic Year.
- 7. The Board of Trustees approved a recommendation to rescind University Rule 3361:10-1-10 and amend University Rule 10-1-05 to reflect the new composition of the Health Affairs Committee.

C. Regular Session (Non-Committee) Item

1. The Board of Trustees approved the recommendation to approve the nomination of the individuals named below for the Honorary Degree or Award for Excellence:

Nominees for the Honorary Degree

Nicholas J. Clooney Thane Maynard Robert L. Woodson

Nominees for the Award for Excellence

Dianne G. Dunkelman Andrew T. Filak, Jr., M.D.

Copies of the minutes of March 27, 2012 meeting will be published on the Board of Trustees web page at the University of Cincinnati website after approval at the next meeting of the Board of Trustees.

Moroh	$\gamma \tau$	20°	17
March	41,	ZU.	ιZ

Office of the Board of Trustees