Blackboard OneStop LibrariesBOL E-mail UCMail UCFileSpace
Future Students Current Students Alumni & Friends Community Faculty & Staff Visitors
University of Cincinnati
UC Web   People   Go  
MapsA-Z IndexUC Tools

Law School Scholarship Brings
UC And Xavier Presidents Together

Date: June 15, 2001
By: Carey Hoffman
Phone: (513) 556-1825
Archive: General News

The Rev. Michael J. Graham, S.J., who began his tenure as president of Xavier University in January, and Dr. Joseph A. Steger, longtime president of the University of Cincinnati, are about to meet for the first time for a "cross-town commemoration and celebration."

Joseph Steger and Michael Graham

They'll come together to discuss the inaugural awarding of the Leo J. Breslin Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship is awarded to an XU undergraduate who has been accepted to the UC College of Law. Ceremonies will take place Tuesday, June 19 at 8:45 a.m. in the Conaton Board Room, 2nd floor of Schmidt Hall on the Xavier campus.

The first recipient of the award is Blake Somers, 21, a 2001 XU graduate. Somers is a native of Nashville, Tennessee and now lives in Blue Ash. "I was very pleased and very proud when I heard about the scholarship. I called my mom right away," Somers says. "I've learned a lot more about Mr. Breslin since then, and the more I've learned, the more impressed I've become. He seems like he must have been a really incredible guy."

Leo J. Breslin was a proud and supportive graduate of St. Xavier High School, XU and the UC Law Class of 1953. As a member of the Cincinnati law firm, Lindhorst & Dreidame, Breslin was known as the consummate litigator and skilled legal counselor. He was also an honored member of numerous organizations, including the American College of Trial Lawyers.

Colleagues, family, and friends of Leo J. Breslin collaborated to establish the scholarship to honor Breslin after he died in March 2000.

Dr. Joseph A. Steger, president of UC, said that the scholarship is the beginning of a great partnership between XU and UC. "This partnership shows the friendship between UC and Xavier, and we're looking forward to more partnerships like this one," he said.

XU President Michael J. Graham, S.J., agreed, "It's good to see both schools come together in friendship. Any collaborations between the two schools enhances the community as a whole, and I am grateful for the opportunity to have this partnership."

The Scholarship Endowment Leadership Team includes Hon. Thomas C. Nurre; John L. Muething and Louis F. Gilligan from the firm of Keating, Muething & Klekamp; Robert G. Stachler of Taft, Stettinius & Hollister, Reuven J. Katz of Katz, Teller, Brant & Hild; William A. Busemeyer, Esq.; James N. Perry, Esq.; Cincinnati businessman Ronald G. Joseph; Barbara J. Howard, UC Law graduate and former national president of the XU Alumni Association; and attorneys Charles J. Kelly, William N. Kirkham, and James H. Smith III of Lindhorst & Dreidame.

The Leo J. Breslin Memorial Scholarship Endowment goal is $200,000, which will provide the in-state tuition for one entering student and Xavier graduate each year to attend the UC College of Law.

Contact Us | University of Cincinnati | 2600 Clifton Ave., Cincinnati, Ohio 45221
Undergraduate Admission: 513-556-1100 | Graduate Admission: 513-556-4335
University Information: 513-556-6000 | Copyright Information. © 2006