Academic Committee

The University Academic Committee (AC) is the university-level governance committee charged to review and recommend newly-proposed academic policies, procedures, and programs to the Provost that impact the university’s teaching, research, and service missions. The committee is responsible for making recommendations to the Provost regarding the university’s academic priorities and monitoring of re-accreditation visits by the Higher Learning Commission of NCA. It seeks the input of the Fiscal Coordinating Committee when appropriate.

The Academic Committee is comprised of the following:

Effective August 1, 2017
  • Chair: Vice Provost of Undergraduate Affairs (ex-offico)
  • One undergraduate student selected by the Undergraduate Student Government
  • Two Faculty Senate representatives, from different colleges, designated by the Faculty Senate in accordance by their internal governance procedures
  • Associate Dean of the Graduate School
  • Each College/Division offering undergraduate programs will have one representative. This representative will be selected for a 3-year term and may come from the college’s curriculum committee, undergraduate council, or be the Associate Dean
  • Vice Provost of International Affairs (as needed)
  • Director of CET&L (when assessment is discussed)
  • Director of Honors (when issues related to Honors are discussed)
  • The University Registrar (as needed)