Global EngagementUC HomeAbout UCUC AcademicsUC AdmissionsUC AthleticsUC GlobalUC HealthUC LibrariesUC ResearchNews


And Then There Were Five

From 31 nominees, the selection committee has narrowed the field to five finalists for the C-Ring, one of the oldest and most prestigious awards given at the University of Cincinnati.

Date: 4/27/2010 12:00:00 AM
By: Wendy Beckman
Phone: (513) 556-1826

UC ingot   The C-Ring Award, first given in 1922, recognizes an outstanding graduating senior woman. Eligible women must have a 3.4 GPA, be community or university leaders, and demonstrate advocacy for women or girls.

C-Ring recipient Kimberly Bauer (left) at the 2009 banquet.
C-Ring recipient Kimberly Bauer (left) at the 2009 banquet.

The C-Ring recipient will be announced at the annual spring dinner where all finalists are recognized. This year’s dinner will be held Saturday, May 15, 2010, at Mick and Mack’s Café. The 2009 C-Ring recipient, Kimberly Bauer, will award the C-Ring to this year’s recipient.

This year 31 graduating senior women were nominated for the 2010 C-Ring by faculty, staff or alumni. Five finalists were selected by the C-Ring committee:

Danielle Everman, College of Engineering & Applied Science, Biomedical Engineering
Nominator: Jeffrey Johnson, associate professor, Biomedical Engineering

Raisa Garvin, College Conservatory of Music, McMicken College of Arts & Sciences,
electronic media/communication
Nominator: Tamika Odum, program manager, UC Women’s Center

Neha Maheshwari, McMicken College of Arts & Sciences, cell & molecular biology with chemistry minor
Nominator: Lucinda Cohen, assistant director, Student Financial Aid

Kathleen Meyer, School of Social Work, social work
Nominator: Rebecca Lehman, program coordinator, Student Activities & Leadership Development

Alexzandra Spatholt, College of Engineering & Applied Science, biomedical engineering
Nominator: Jen Lile, assistant director & academic advisor, University Honors Program

Read about other recent C-Ring Recipients:

2009, Kimberly Bauer
Mason’s Kimberly Bauer Chosen as 2009 C-Ring Winner 
She's Walked in Commencement, Now C-Ring Winner Shadows Doctors in Burn Clinic in South America  

2008, Amy Schlegel
C-Ring Winner Grateful to UC for Strong Sense of Community   

2007, Rachel Robitz
2007 C-Ring Winner Celebrates the Community of Women    

2006, Sarah Knight
Competition for UC’s C-Ring Award Has Grown by Leaps and Bounds

2005, Samantha Cronier
Samantha Cronier Grabs the Gold Ring at the Annual C-Ring Banquet

Read the full list of prior winners.