Global EngagementUC HomeAbout UCUC AcademicsUC AdmissionsUC AthleticsUC GlobalUC HealthUC LibrariesUC ResearchNews


Committee Named to Seek New University of Cincinnati President

The search has begun to find the next president of the University of Cincinnati. The search committee has been named and will soon begin work.

Date: 3/17/2009 1:30:00 PM
By: Greg Hand
Phone: (513) 556-1822

UC ingot  

The search committee charged with identifying the next president of the University of Cincinnati has been announced by H.C. Buck Niehoff, chairperson of the UC Board of Trustees.

The composition of the committee, Niehoff said, follows the format described in University Rule 10-6-01. That rule was modified by Board vote at the March 17 meeting to include a representative of the University System of Ohio.

The committee will include two trustees:

  • C. Francis Barrett, president of the Cincinnati law firm of Barrett & Weber
  • Sandra W. Heimann, vice president of American Financial Group

Two faculty representatives are:

  • Marla Hall, chair, University of Cincinnati Faculty
  • Stephen T. Kowel, professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Representing the university’s students are:

  • Diana Hechavarria, a member of the graduate student governance association, will serve as the graduate student representative
  • Janelle Wichmann, a member of the undergraduate student government, will serve as the undergraduate student representative

The university’s deans will be represented by:

  • Valerie Gray Hardcastle, dean of the McMicken College of Arts and Sciences
  • David Stern, dean of the College of Medicine

Other members include:

  • John A. West, judge, Hamilton County Common Pleas Court, has agreed to be a community representative to the committee
  • Jeffrey P. Williams will represent the UC Foundation
  • Chad P. Wick was selected by Chancellor Eric Fingerhut to represent the University System of Ohio

The following are ex-officio voting members as specified by University rule:

  • Jeff Wyler as the immediate past chairperson of the Board of Trustees
  • Steve Simendinger, as president of the UC Alumni Association

The committee will be chaired by H. C. Buck Niehoff, chairman of the Board of Trustees.

The search committee will be assisted in its work by Heidrick & Struggles, an international, premier provider of executive search and leadership consulting services. Heidrick & Struggles was the search firm that assisted in the recruitment of President Nancy Zimpher in 2003. The first meeting of the committee has been set for Monday, March 30.

For more information on the search process, see the Presidential Search Web site.