LGBTQ Faculty and Staff Association

LGBTQ+ Faculty and staff association logo - Faculty, Staff, Ally

The UC LGBTQ+ Faculty and Staff Association (FSA) was established in 2018 with the support of the Office of the Provost. Our goal is to create an inclusive environment that values LGBTQ faculty and staff as an essential component of UC’s diverse community by:

  • Retaining LGBTQ talent on our campuses;
  • Providing a safe and secure professional environment for LGBTQ faculty and staff;
  • Empowering our members toward visibility and action; and
  • Attracting future faculty and staff to meet the needs of new generations of LGBTQ students, who often face multiple obstacles as college students.

Executive Board

The LGBTQ FSA is made up of an executive committee and five sub-committees. The chair of each sub-committee serves as representation on the executive committee.

Headshot of Amy Lind, Co-Chair

Amy Lind, Co-Chair

Taft Research Center Director & Mary Ellen Heintz Professor of Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Pronouns: she/her/hers

Headshot of Chad Vondenhuevel, Interim Co-Chair and Communications

Chad Vondenhuevel, Interim Co-Chair and Communications

Associate Director of Admissions & Director of Marketing and Digital Media, College of Law

Pronouns: he/him/his

Headshot of Maribeth Metzler, Membership & Outreach

Maribeth Metzler, Membership & Outreach

Professor, Communications

Pronouns: she/her/hers

Headshot of Juwon Lee, Programming & Mentorship

Juwon Lee, Programming & Mentorship

Program Coordinator, Ethnic Programs & Services

Pronouns: he/him/his

Headshot of Alex Brogaard, Programming & Mentorship

Alex Brogaard, Programming & Mentorship

Program Coordinator, Office of Advising & Academic Services

Pronouns: he/him/his

Headshot of Rachael Nolan, Professional Development

Rachael Nolan, Professional Development

Assistant Professor, Medicine

Pronouns: she/her/hers

Sub-Committee Membership

If you would like to join one of the sub-committees, please email the corresponding member on the executive board.

  • Policy & Governance: Amy Lind & Chad Vondenhuevel
  • Programming & Mentorship: Alex Brogaard, Juwon Lee, and David Gillespie
  • Membership & Outreach: Meribeth Metzler
  • Professional Development: Rachael Nolan & Michael Woodward
  • Communication: Chad Vondenhuevel