6th Annual Onyx & Ruby Gala

Saturday, February 29, 2020

Kingsgate Hotel & Conference Center

151 Goodman Avenue, Cincinnati, OH 45219

scholarship winners

Onyx and Ruby Gala attendees find their seats prior to the event beginning

The Onyx & Ruby Gala was created in 2007 to recognize the achievements of African American alumni, faculty and staff, and students at the University of Cincinnati. Since then, this elegant event has become one of the largest alumni-driven event for the UC Alumni Association, having grown each year of its existence.

The gala also serves as the primary fundraiser for the Shani Scholarship, an award created by the African American Alumni Affiliate to support underrepresented students in their endeavor to study abroad or international coop. Last year, the event raised over $10,000 to send UC students to countries such as South Africa, Costa Rica, and Peru.

Nominations are now open for the Onyx & Ruby Awards. The deadline to submit all nomination materials is Friday, October 11. 

Hotel rooms the Kingsgate Hotel have been reserved for those attendees who plan to stay overnight. Saturday evening rates are $129+tax for King and Double rooms. Click here to make your hotel reservation.

Thank You to Our 2020 Onyx & Ruby Gala Sponsor


UC Health