COVID-19 Resources for Students

Students,

We are experiencing truly unique times. To keep you updated, we would like to share the following information concerning our office. Check this webpage regularly for additional information and updates concerning our office and accommodations related to COVID-19 and remote learning.

  • We are Open! Our office remains open, but we must meet with you remotely. The following services are still available:
    • Intake appointments for Spring 2020: We are still taking documentation and scheduling appointments. Please continue to use our Online Application for Services.
    • We are still taking Accommodation Coordination appointments and may meet with you by phone or by WebEx. Reach out to your Accommodation Coordinator, either Michael Southern, Matthew Sauer or Whitney Saunders to schedule an appointment.
      • Dr. Matthew Sauer: matthew.sauer@uc.edu
        • Works with students within these colleges: Arts and Sciences, Social Work, CECH, and Adult Learning Center
      • Whitney Saunders: whitney.saunders@uc.edu
        • Works with students within these colleges: Allied Health, Business, CCM, DAAP, Engineering, Nursing, and Pharmacy
      • Michael Southern: michael.southern@uc.edu
        • Works with students within these colleges: College of Law and College of Medicine
      • If you have general questions, please feel free to contact us at: accessreources@uc.edu
  • Remote Testing Accommodations: In collaboration with testing services we've created a Remote Testing Accommodation FAQ's page. Please refer to this page for information on testing accommodations you may have available to you and how to utilize them. 
  • Alternative Formats and Digital Accessibility: We are still accepting requests for alternative formats. Continue to use our Alternative Format Request Form to make requests, but check out these additional resources:
    • BlackBoard/Canvas Ally: Alternative formats for your readings uploaded to BlackBoard or Canvas are immediately available to you directly in BlackBoard and Canvas.
    • Many Publishers and Book Retailers are making alternative format and accessible e-textbooks available for free to college students in response to COVID-19 and remote learning periods. Please take advantage for the following resources.
  • Communication Access Team:
    • We are working with faculty and local technical personnel to provide closed captioning for videos and other pre-recorded media during our transition to remote instruction. Please direct questions or inquiries about closed captioning of course videos to Katheryn Lane at katheryn.lane@uc.edu
    • All live lectures will be captioned remotely.  For live remote CART, students will be provided with a link prior to the start of class.  The captions can be accessed via, computer, laptop, tablet, or phone, at any time during class.  As always, students will be emailed a transcript within 48 hours. If you have any questions, please contact Molly Adams at molly.adams@uc.edu
    • If you need remote ASL/English interpreting services, please complete the online interpreter request form and our team will work to provide video remote interpreting.  Additionally, if you need lectures interpreted – into either ASL or spoken English – our team is able to work directly with you to provide those services. For additional information or questions, please contact Katherine Vance at katherine.vance@uc.edu.