Information Technology


Headshot of Johanna W Looye

Johanna W Looye

Associate Professor, DAAP School of Planning

6207 DAA Addition


Johanna Looye has over thirty-five years of experience in Latin American development. Her work in Brazil includes studies of small business in Ceará and throughout the Northeast. She has also conducted research on urban environmental issues in the City of Rio de Janeiro and in 1999 she was awarded a Senior Fulbright Fellowship to teach and conduct research at the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro. Dr. Looye has worked on micro-and small-business development in Brazil, Thailand (handicrafts and sustainable development), Crete (alternative economic development for Hersonissos), and the U.S. In Cincinnati, Looye has served on the Board of Directors for the Cincinnati Business Incubator. She has also worked with the City of Cincinnati to identify local capacity for developing microenterprises and with Smart Money Community Services to develop a 12-week training program for aspiring entrepreneurs from Over-the-Rhine and the Findlay Market area. Dr. Looye teaches urban and regional theory, international development planning and economic development, primarily at the graduate level. She also teaches quantitative and research methods.

Description of Committee

The charge of the IT Committee is to formulate and express faculty views on information technology issues, including distance learning and online courses, recommends electronic voting procedural standards and tools that ensure security, anonymity, and faculty control, offer consultation and training, and, if asked, assess the legitimacy of software employed for soliciting faculty votes.  Matters requiring Faculty action shall be sent as recommendations to the Senate.

Committee Members
Name Term Email
Adam Chekour (UCBA) 2021-23
Jennifer Ellis (UCBA) 2021-23
Susan Boland (Libraries) 2022-24
Joan Sevy-Majers (CoN) 2022-24
College Representatives to the IT Committee
College Name Email
A&S Bob Hyland
CAHS Erin Redle
UCBA Michelle McKinney
LCB Rob Rokey
UC Clermont Karen Lankisch
CCM Dror Biran
CECH James Hawkins
CEAS Woo Kyun Kim
CCPS Samantha Groh
Law Michael Whiteman
Libraries Susan Boland
CoM Andrew Thompson
CoN Sherry Donaworth
Pharmacy Alex Lin


  • Represent Faculty on IT issues, including but not limited to distance learning and online courses
  • Recommend electronic voting procedural standards and tools
  • When needed, assess legitimacy of software employed for soliciting faculty votes


  • 4 elected members
  • Elected members will serve a two year term
  • Terms will be staggered, 2 elected in odd years; 2 elected in even years
  • One faculty representative from each degree-offering unit of the University, ELCE and Libraries
  • Two ex-officio members:  Vice President for Information Technology and UCIT Director of Education Services