Global EngagementUC HomeAbout UCUC AcademicsUC AdmissionsUC AthleticsUC GlobalUC HealthUC LibrariesUC ResearchNews


Lindner's 33rd Annual Cincinnati Business Achievement Awards Honors Region's Outstanding Leaders

Cincinnati’s longest-standing event recognizing accomplishment and community service also paid homage to UC’s new business school building that will continue to carry the namesake and legacy of Carl H. Lindner Jr.

Date: 5/21/2018 12:00:00 AM
By: Judy Ashton
Phone: (513) 556-7162

UC ingot  
Cincinnati Business Achievement Awardees
Cincinnati Business Achievement Awardees

The University of Cincinnati Carl H. Lindner College of Business Alumni Board of Governors once again bestowed its annual Cincinnati Business Achievement Awards on May 10, 2018, in the Junior Ballroom at the Duke Energy Convention Center. Business alumni and leaders were recognized for their business achievements and service to the community before a crowd of more than 450. The event raised more than $50,000 in student scholarships.

Leigh Fox, MBA ’01, president and CEO of Cincinnati Bell, received the college’s highest honor: The Carl H. Lindner Award for Outstanding Business Achievement. The award, presented to him by Ted Torbeck, retired Cincinnati Bell CEO, is given to a Lindner College of Business graduate, who best exemplifies an entrepreneurial spirit with commitment to business, community and the highest level of success within one’s profession.

Distinguished Service Awards were bestowed to Wendy Lea, Cintrifuse CEO, and Woodrow “Woody” Uible, BA ’75, Partner and Investment Advisor with Bartlett & Co. Lea and Uible were recognized for their commitment to the college, the university, and the Cincinnati community. David Adams, UC’s chief innovation officer, presented Lea her award; and Amanda Wait, BA ’00, and Svetlana Galvez, BA ’18, presented Uible with his award.

The Kroger Company, known for being among the country’s most charitable companies, received the Business Partnership Award for its substantial support to the Lindner College of Business. This year’s recipient was hailed for providing ongoing career opportunities for business students and graduates. Luke Lampe, BBA ’21, a Carl H. Lindner Honors-PLUS scholar, presented the award to Chris Hjelm, executive vice president and chief information officer at Kroger.

In recognition of Lindner alumni who personify the PACE (professionalism, academics, character and engagement) ideals in their careers, three PACEsetter awards were given to Marvin Abrinica, BBA ’98, MBA ’02; Katie Paulin Schnieber, BBA ’09, MS ’10; and Tamaya Dennard, BBA ’12. Abrinica is a serial entrepreneur and the founder of Thrivera and Wunderfund; Schnieber is an audit manager for Clark Schaefer Hackett & Co.; and Dennard is a Cincinnati City Councilwoman.

UC President Neville Pinto was on hand to present the Carl H. Lindner Scholarship to Ethan Fernandes, BBA ’19. The scholarship, one of the oldest that bears the Lindner name, was given in recognition of Fernandes’ service to the UC and Cincinnati communities, as well as his involvement with Lindner’s Business Fellows and Circle of Excellence student groups.

A new scholarship, The Heart of William J. Keating Award, was given to Kelly Higgins, BBA ’19. The award bears the name of the late Keating and honors his longtime service as president of Lindner’s Business Advisory Council, as well as to the University of Cincinnati, his alma mater. Keating's friend, Tim Fogarty, CEO of West Chester Holdings and a Lindner Business Advisory Council member, presented the award to Higgins.

On behalf of the UC Lindner College of Business Alumni Board of Governors, the college again congratulates all award recipients and thanks this year's many sponsors.