Skip to main content

About Us

History of CES

The Center for Exploratory Studies (CES) was established at the University of Cincinnati (UC) in February 2003 to assist all UC undergraduate students with the major selection process in an effort to promote student retention.  While administratively housed in the McMicken College of Arts and Sciences, CES serves as a university-wide advising center.  Originally, CES advisors focused primarily on major selection and transition.  As the effectiveness of the center became well established in terms of student retention and satisfaction, additional advisors were added to serve the growing exploratory student population.  Today, advisors in CES comprehensively assist students with curricular planning as well as the time-intensive major selection process.  Currently, the Center serves more than 1,700 UC undergraduate students.

Academic Advising at UC

MISSION

The UC Advising community engages and supports students through teaching and collaboration to achieve their academic, personal, and professional goals.

VISION

The UC Advising community will advance a personalized educational environment in which:
  • All students achieve their goals through exploration, reflection, and engagement
  • We are committed to inclusion, teaching, and lifelong learning
  • We are global leaders in advising practice, scholarship, and innovation

Jump to:

Staff

Gavin, Doe

Assistant Director, Academic

2623 French Hall

513-556-6540

doe.gavin@uc.edu

Gray, Robert J

Assistant Director, Academic

2617 French Hall

513-556-6540

robert.gray@uc.edu

Kennedy, Doug

Assistant Director, Academic

2620 French Hall

513-556-6540

doug.kennedy@uc.edu

Kilgore, Heather

Assistant Director, Academic

2616 French Hall

513-556-6540

heather.kilgore@uc.edu

Logan, Allison L H

Director Academic

2624 French Hall

513-556-6540

allison.logan@uc.edu

Sovilla, Stephen

Assistant Director, Academic

2621 French Hall

513-556-6540

stephen.sovilla@uc.edu

Weimer, Kathy

Assistant Director, Academic

2619 French Hall

513-556-6540

kathleen.weimer@uc.edu

Undergraduate student workers

Colley, Kathleen M

Student Worker

Monnin, Lindsey E

Student Worker