Staff Senate


The concept of a staff senate began as a service learning project with the 2016-2017 UC Women Lead staff cohort. They recognized that the inclusion of a staff voice would elevate staff morale and engagement on campus. It would also add diversity to the University’s mission while enriching the community as a whole.

In 2018, aligning with UC’s strategic direction, Next Lives Here, and Staff Enrichment Pathway, a Staff Senate Advisory Committee with liaisons from Administration was charged to research the concept of a staff senate for UC and develop a proposal for the structure and governance of such senate. The committee developed a proposed framework and bylaws and shared with Sr. Leadership. On, October 16, 2018, the Staff Senate proposal was presented to the Board of Trustees and approved.

The first Staff Senate meeting was held on October 24, 2018. The original Staff Senate Advisory Committee members committed to serving as at-large members of the inaugural Staff Senate and elected its first officers.


Founding Members

  • Nicole Blount
  • Larry Caras
  • Chris Collins
  • Christine Gilliam
  • Renee Hargrove
  • Lauren Lantz
  • Kerry Overstake
  • Debra Peters
  • Lacey McCarthy
  • Janet Staderman
  • Cynthia Treacy