Our Community

Fraternity and Sorority Life has a long history of tradition and excellence at the University of Cincinnati. Since 1840, UC has been home to over 50 national fraternities and sororities, and more than 22,000 alumni have passed through our community.

Shortly after Beta Theta Pi's birth at Miami of Ohio in 1839, it established a second chapter at the University of Cincinnati (then the Cincinnati College) which thus established in 1840 the first fraternity at what is now the University of Cincinnati. Sigma Chi was founded in 1882, and Sigma Alpha Epsilon shortly after in 1889. Beta Theta Pi was revived in 1890, and Phi Delta Theta was the last men's fraternity to be founded before the turn of the century.

The first sorority founded at the University of Cincinnati was Kappa Kappa Gamma in 1885. However, they relinquished their charter shortly thereafter, and three of the four members became founders of a local group until 1913 when it chartered as Kappa Alpha Theta. Delta Delta Delta was the second women's fraternity founded at our university in 1892.

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. and Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. were the first historically African-American Greek lettered organizations founded at the University of Cincinnati, both in 1920.

In 1996, Alpha Psi Lambda was the first co-ed, Latino-interest fraternity to come to campus. The Multicultural Greek Council was formally established in 2018 with the help of Chi Sigma Tau Fraternity, Inc., Delta Phi Lambda Sorority, Inc., and Sigma Alpha Epsilon Pi.