UC awards early career research support

Office of Research announces inaugural class of URC faculty scholars

University of Cincinnati's Office of Research has announced the inaugural class of University Research Council (URC) Faculty Scholars Research Awards

URC was established in 1971 as an internal funding program. The new awards program invests in early career faculty selected based on the quality, novelty and impact of their research, scholarship and creative activity. 

The eight faculty members who will each receive $25,000 awards include:

  • Assistant Professor Sunnie Rucker-Chang, College of Arts & Sciences, Department of German Studies
  • Assistant Professor Rebecca Wingo, College of Arts & Sciences, Department of History
  •  Assistant Professor Victoria McKenna, College of Allied Health Science, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders; College of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Department of Biomedical Engineering 
  • Assistant Professor Meghan Morris, College of Law/Affiliate Faculty, Department of Anthropology 
  • Assistant Professor Nalinikanth Kotagiri, College of Pharmacy, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Assistant Professor Katherine Vest, College of Medicine, Molecular Genetics, Biochemistry and Microbiology 
  • Assistant Professor Patrick Ray, College of Engineering and Applied Science, Department of Chemical and Environmental Engineering
  • Assistant Professor Pietro Strobbia, College of Arts & Sciences, Department of Chemistry. 

Read more about the winning faculty researchers and see the full announcement from the UC Office of Research here.

Related Stories


In Memoriam: Dion Dionysiou, PhD

December 4, 2023

Dionysios (Dion) Dionysiou, PhD, professor of environmental engineering in the University of Cincinnati College of Engineering and Applied Science, died unexpectedly Nov. 20. He was 57 years old. He was a world-renowned researcher, who was frequently lauded for his work developing technologies and strategies to identify, monitor, and treat water pollutants and toxins.

Debug Query for this