UC Photographers Honored at Diana Walker Reception

Eight local photojournalists will be recognized for their contributions to the visual history of our community at the reception. Professor Jon Hughes, from the Department of English and Comparative Literature at the University of Cincinnati, was asked by the exhibit's organizing committee to select the photojournalists. Hughes selected three widely known and respected photojournalists — Melvin Grier, Michael Keating and Gordon Baer — and asked them to expand the list. Patrick Reddy, Glenn Hartong and Mike Simons were then added. Two young staff photographers were also added: Jason Geil and Carrie Cochran, both graduates of the University of Cincinnati.

These photojournalists are a fine representation of the many talented and dedicated photojournalists working in the metro area.

Many reporters’ stories have made it to page one or the cover because of the art and this is a rare opportunity to publicly honor those photojournalists. It is also an opportunity to view an extraordinary exhibit.

Related Stories


Times Reporter: Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine wants to ban flavored...

October 2, 2023

A ban of flavored nicotine is under discussion in the Ohio state house, but legislators cannot agree on which — or all — flavors to ban. UC political scientist David Niven talks to the Times Reporter about whether legislators can come to an agreement.


College Matters. Alma Matters: UC grad and UC faculty featured...

September 29, 2023

College Matters. Alma Matters. podcast features molecular geneticist Dr. Anil Menon, associate dean of undergraduate education and director of the undergraduate program in biomedical sciences in the UC College of Medicine and Pateek Raj, graduate of SPIA.

Debug Query for this