And Then There Were Five

The C-Ring Award,

first given in 1922

, recognizes an outstanding graduating senior woman. Eligible women must have a 3.4 GPA, be community or university leaders, and demonstrate advocacy for women or girls.

The C-Ring recipient will be announced at the annual spring dinner where all finalists are recognized. This year’s dinner will be held Saturday, May 15, 2010, at Mick and Mack’s Café. The 2009 C-Ring recipient, Kimberly Bauer, will award the C-Ring to this year’s recipient.

This year 31 graduating senior women were nominated for the 2010 C-Ring by faculty, staff or alumni. Five finalists were selected by the C-Ring committee:

Danielle Everman,

College of Engineering & Applied Science, Biomedical Engineering

Nominator: Jeffrey Johnson, associate professor, Biomedical Engineering

Raisa Garvin,

College Conservatory of Music, McMicken College of Arts & Sciences,

electronic media/communication

Nominator: Tamika Odum, program manager, UC Women’s Center

Neha Maheshwari

, McMicken College of Arts & Sciences, cell & molecular biology with chemistry minor

Nominator: Lucinda Cohen, assistant director, Student Financial Aid

Kathleen Meyer,

School of Social Work, social work

Nominator: Rebecca Lehman, program coordinator, Student Activities & Leadership Development

Alexzandra Spatholt,

College of Engineering & Applied Science, biomedical engineering

Nominator: Jen Lile, assistant director & academic advisor, University Honors Program

Read about other recent C-Ring Recipients:

2009, Kimberly Bauer

Mason’s Kimberly Bauer Chosen as 2009 C-Ring Winner 

She's Walked in Commencement, Now C-Ring Winner Shadows Doctors in Burn Clinic in South America


2008, Amy Schlegel

C-Ring Winner Grateful to UC for Strong Sense of Community


2007, Rachel Robitz

2007 C-Ring Winner Celebrates the Community of Women


2006, Sarah Knight

Competition for UC’s C-Ring Award Has Grown by Leaps and Bounds

2005, Samantha Cronier

Samantha Cronier Grabs the Gold Ring at the Annual C-Ring Banquet

Read the full list of prior winners.

Related Stories

Debug Query for this