Outstanding Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Students Honored at the 2007 McMicken College of Arts and Sciences Awards Dinner

The annual event is set for 5:30 p.m. on Thursday, May 3, in the Russell C. Myers Alumni Center.

Distinguished Alumni Awards:

  • C. David Allis, BS, 1973, biology. Allis is the Joy and Jack Fishman Professor and Head of the Laboratory of Chromatin Biology at The Rockefeller University in New York, N.Y.
  • Benjamin Gettler, BA, 1945, economics. Gettler is chairman of the board and president of Vulcan International Corp. and former chairman of the UC board of trustees.
  • The Hon. Mark P. Painter, BA, political science, 1970. Painter serves the Ohio First District Court of Appeals. More than 350 of his decisions have been published nationally, making him the most-published Hamilton County judge ever.
  • Barbara Shailor, MA, 1971, and PhD, 1975, classics. Shailor is deputy provost for the arts at Yale University.
  • Stephen G. Wells, MS, 1973, and PhD, 1976, geology. Wells is president of the Desert Research Institute (DRI) of the University and Community College System of Nevada. He is also the president of the Geological Society of America. (Wells will also be giving a talk on Thursday as part of the Department of Geology Colloquium series.)

McMicken Dean's Awards for Faculty Excellence:

  • Carl Mills Award for Outstanding Faculty & Student Relations: Jay Twomey, English
  • Edith C. Alexander Award for Distinguished Teaching: Kathy Burlew, professor, psychology
  • Distinguished Scholarship: Carlton Brett, professor, geology
  • Distinguished Service: Daniel Langmeyer, professor, psychology
  • Distinguished Adjunct Performance: Erwin F. Erhardt, adjunct assistant professor, economics

McMicken Dean's Award for Staff Excellence:

  • Robert T. Voorhees, research associate, chemistry

Alumni Scholarships:

  • Jennifer Graf, biology
  • Sarah Rovito, English

Eleanor Hicks Award for the Outstanding Undergraduate Female Senior:

  • Jessica Lawrence, biology and environmental studies

Robert Patterson McKibbin Medal for the Outstanding Undergraduate Male Senior:

  • Alan Grove, international affairs

Outstanding Master’s Student Award:

  • Byron Adams, geology

Outstanding Doctoral Student Award:

  • Raluca Dumitru, mathematics



Related Stories


What is Africana Studies?

February 29, 2024

In the Africana studies major within UC’s College of Arts and Sciences, you will explore a variety of approaches to understand the experiences of African, African American, Afro-Latin, Afro-Caribbean, and Afro-European populations globally. This interdisciplinary program blends tools from sociology, psychology, literature, anthropology, politics, and history to address social issues affecting people of African descent across continents and diasporas.


UC discovers way to bind nanotubes to metals

February 29, 2024

Researchers have demonstrated a new chemical process that grafts nanotubes to metal surfaces to create a strong, consistent, conductive link. The process opens up new possibilities for using this strong, lightweight material.

Debug Query for this