Medical Educators at UC Honored for Their Excellence

Every two years educators and supporters of medical education at the UC College of Medicine are recognized for their outstanding contributions to medical education. 

This year’s Recognition Dinner was held Thursday, April 27, at Bell Event Centre in Cincinnati with Andrew Filak Jr., MD, senior associate dean for academic affairs, presenting awards. The following individuals were recognized:

2017 Dean’s Award for Teaching Excellence

  • Ferhan Asghar, MD, assistant professor of orthopaedic surgery
  • Chris Bernheisel, MD, associate professor of family medicine
  • Lisa Kelly, MD, assistant professor of ophthalmology
  • Jennifer Rose Molano, MD, associate professor of neurology
  • Shimul Shah, MD, associate professor of transplant surgery
  • Alexander Trott, MD, adjunct professor of emergency medicine
  • Houman Varghai, MD, assistant professor internal medicine

Community Preceptor Awards

  • Rebecca Koehl, MD
  • Geraldine Vehr, MD
  • Constance Vitaliti, MD
  • John Vitaliti, MD

Medical Education Rising Star Award

  • Roohi Kharofa, MD, assistant professor of pediatrics
  • Sarah Pickle, MD, assistant professor of family medicine

Excellence in Mentoring Award

  • Robbie Paulsen, MD, assistant professor of emergency medicine
  • Jeffrey Schlaudecker, MD, associate professor of family medicine

Graduate Medical Education Program Coordinator Award

  • Rose Alden, radiology residency and sub specialty fellowship programs

Graduate Medical Education Program Director Award

  • Patricia Carey, MD, director, fellowship training program in transfusion medicine
  • John Lawrence, MD, director, residency training program in anesthesiology
  • Mary McMahon, MD, director, residency training program in physical medicine and rehabilitation
  • Caroline Mueller, MD, director residency training program in internal medicine and pediatrics
  • Satwant Singh, MD, director, fellowship training program in nephrology
  • Brian Stettler, MD, director, residency training program in emergency medicine

Resident Teaching Excellence Award

  • Joshua Kuethe, MD, resident, general surgery
  • Christopher Richardson, MD, resident, emergency medicine

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Laura Wexler, MD, adjunct professor of cardiovascular health and disease
  • Bruce Giffin, PhD, associate dean for medical education

Optime Magistrum Award

(M1/M2 Curriculum Courses Best Teachers)


  • Stefanie Benoit, MD, Physician and Society 201
  • Edmund Choi, PhD, Fundamentals of Cellular Medicine
  • Michael Lieberman, PhD, Fundamentals of Molecular Medicine
  • John Quinlan, MD, Brain, Mind and Behavior – M2
  • Elizabeth Schlaudecker, MD, Physician and Society 101
  • Andrew Thompson, PhD, Musculoskeletal-Integumentary
  • Laura Wexler, MD, Blood and Cardiovascular System
  • Kathryn Wikenheiser-Brokamp, MD, Renal and Pulmonary Systems