Unable to get image from page properties or content. Will fall back to a default image.

Article has no topics tags assigned

Article has no colleges tags assigned

Article has no audiences tags assigned

Article has no units tags assigned

Article has no next-lives-here tags assigned

Contacts are empty

These mssages will display in edit mode only.

2018 Outstanding Philanthropic Volunteer Award winners announced

UC Foundation honors individuals and groups for contributions to UC and UC Health

The University of Cincinnati Foundation announced today its 2018 Outstanding Philanthropic Volunteer Award winners. Honorees include community leader Carrie Hayden; Michael Puccini, BSPH ’83; the Ohio Innocence Project Board of Advocates; Karen Tully, senior director of development for UC’s College-Conservatory of Music (CCM); and Andrew Conley, CEAS ’17. These individuals are selected based on their extraordinary philanthropic commitments to UC and UC Health.

“Through tenacity, relationships and a love for their communities, this year’s award winners exemplify what it means to be a Bearcat,” said UC Foundation President Peter E. Landgren. “They are committed to serving others whether it’s fighting cancer, mentoring students, freeing the innocent or lifting others by cultivating a culture of philanthropy. It is a pleasure to partner with them in multiple ways and to recognize them in this manner.”

2018 Outstanding Philanthropic Volunteer Award Winners

Chairman’s Award – Carrie Hayden

The Chairman’s Award is the UC Foundation’s highest recognition for a volunteer who has made a noteworthy, university-wide philanthropic impact. This year, the prestigious award

went to Hayden for her extraordinary dedication and work involving the campaign to earn NCI designation. Hayden is a co-chair of the Cincinnati Cancer Center’s campaign cabinet; she and her husband John created an endowed chair to support the director of the Center.

As a long-time champion of the UC Cancer Institute, Hayden gives of her time, financial resources and personal experiences all in the name of eliminating cancer and providing better outcomes for our region.

Trustees’ Award – Michael Puccini

The UC Foundation’s Trustees’ Award recognizes a volunteer’s contributions to advancing philanthropy for a specific UC college or area. Puccini has been an avid supporter of the James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy since 1985. His involvement in his alma mater has a wide range and includes involving his employer, The Kroger Company, in mentorship and funding opportunities.

Puccini is a co-chair for the UC College of Pharmacy’s Board of Advisors, a member of its Council on Diversity and a student mentor. He also supports UC’s Darwin T. Turner Scholarship program with his time and financial support.

Group Philanthropy Award – Ohio Innocent Project Board of Advocates

The mission of this group of 14 individuals is simple: freeing those who are wrongly incarcerated. Steve Black, president; John Isidor, vice president; Kathy Brinkman, Secretary; Greg Bell; Jennie Rosenthal Berliant; Joe Brant; Anne DeLyons; Dean Gillispie, exoneree member; Paul Heldman; Hon. Nathaniel Jones; Aftab Pureval; Cliff Schecter; Curtis Scribner; Richard Weiland make up the board.

Formed in 2013, this board has promoted the Ohio Innocent Project, raised funds for its pro bono work, raised national awareness and helped release innocent men and women who have served a total of 509.5 years in prison.

Staff Award of Merit – Karen Tully

Karen Tully, senior director of development at UC’s CCM was awarded the Staff Award of Merit. In her 22 years at CCM, Karen has cultivated a culture of philanthropy among faculty, staff, alumni and donors.

Her major accomplishments include managing a $93.2 million capital campaign to rebuild and restructure CCM’s campus as well as managing 15 Moveable Feast events that raised $2 million. Tully was also instrumental in the successful merger of the Alumni Board of CCM and Friends of CCM to create CCMpower.

Student Philanthropy Award – Andrew Conley

Conley was an outstanding advocate for philanthropy and student engagement during his five years at UC. As a member of the Student Alumni Council, he held the positions of vice president of external affairs, vice president of special events and 2016 Homecoming chair. As Homecoming chair, Conley increased sponsorships and overall event participation.

As president of Men of Metro Men’s Honorary, he established an alumni advisory committee, demonstrating his deep understanding of the relationship between engagement and fundraising.

Three people at award event

Peter Landgren, UCF President; Karen Tully, senior director of development for CCM; Troy Neat, UCF Board Chair.

Related Stories

Featured image for Spirit of Community award goes to UC computer engineer

Spirit of Community award goes to UC computer engineer

Diana Riggs

Mon, November 19, 2018

Kyle Robinson was selected by the College of Engineering and Applied Science (CEAS) for the Spirit of Community Award, presented at the all-university recognition ceremony hosted by the Office of Student Activities and Leadership Development

Query for this