Article has no nextliveshere tags assigned

Article has no topics tags assigned

Article has no colleges tags assigned

Article has no audiences tags assigned

Article has no units tags assigned

Contacts are empty

These messages will display in edit mode only.

Two UC Academic Health Center deans inducted into the National Academies of Practice

Deans of the College of Nursing and College of Allied Health nominated by the dean of the College of Pharmacy

Greer Glazer, PhD, dean of the University of Cincinnati (UC) College of Nursing and Tina Whalen, EdD, dean of the UC College of Allied Health Sciences (CAHS) were inducted into the National Academies of Practice (NAP) as distinguished fellows. They were nominated by Neil MacKinnon, PhD, dean of the UC James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy, who was inducted into the NAP in May 2018.

“NAP is a national association with a focus on interdisciplinary health care practice and fully utilizing each member of the health care team,” says MacKinnon. “Deans Glazer and Whalen have been strong advocates and role models for this for many years and as a result, I felt they were very deserving to be fellows of NAP.”

Fellowship in NAP is reserved for those who have spent 10 or more years of their career in the practice and delivery of health care services and who are judged by peers to have made enduring contributions to their professions.

Glazer and Whalen were inducted at the 2019 NAP Annual Meeting and Forum held March 7-9 in Pentagon City, Virginia, just outside Washington D.C. During their time in the area, they went to Capitol Hill to meet with the Cincinnati area congressional delegation, advocating for patient-centered care policy and funding.

Whalen has been a faculty member at UC since 1990 and was named dean of CAHS in 2015. Her area of content expertise is neurology, neurorehabilitation and geriatrics. Glazer joined UC as College of Nursing dean in 2012, and holds a distinguished record of research that evolved from a focus on women’s health to her work as dean, leading research around student success, diversity and inclusion. She was recently honored as a 2019 Health Care Hero by the Cincinnati Business Courier.

Glazer and Whalen will join MacKinnon and three others from the College of Pharmacy as NAP members. Jill Boone, PharmD, professor; Kelly Epplen, PharmD, associate professor; and Jenelle Sobotka, PharmD, professor, were all inducted in previous years.