UC Clermont women’s soccer wins second National Championship

The Cougars are back-to-back champions

The UC Clermont College women’s soccer team defeated SUNY College ESF 2-0 on Nov. 11 in Virginia Beach, Virginia, to win the 2019 United States Collegiate Athletic Association Women’s Division 2 Soccer National Championship. The national title is the second in a row for the UC Clermont women’s soccer program.

“This win was emotional,” says Head Coach Blaine Callahan. “These seniors deserved to go out on top, and the emotion they showed as the whistle blew tells it all. They truly love this sport and this team. I’m proud of the student athletes they have become.”

The win caps off an exceptionally strong year for the Cougars, who ended the season with a record of 12-3. Senior striker Tara Claus (Milford) and sophomore midfielder Rachel Dorr (Colerain) scored the team’s two goals in the championship game. The Cougars defeated Penn State Brandywine and Southern Maine in the first two tournament games to earn a  slot in the final match.

The latest national championship is another feather in the cap for a program that started only five years ago. Callahan attributes the team’s success to hard work, dedication and team cohesion.

“6 a.m. practices, July campus runs and coming together as a team toward the end of the season really made a difference,” Callahan says. “We played our best offensive soccer during the tournament, and we had some individual moments of brilliance by key players. When your attacking players are putting the ball in the net six times a game, it makes the game more entertaining for all and builds the confidence of the team.”

In addition to the championship win, the following players received USCAA accolades:

Lauren Gilbert (West Clermont) — Honorable Mention All-American

Ally Brown (University of Akron) — 2nd team All-American

Angela McLaughlin (Lynchburg-Clay) — 1st team All- American, Academic All-American

Alexis Taylor (Hamilton) —1st team All-American

Hannah Mahoney (Amelia) — Academic All-American