Office of Nationally Competitive Awards

The Office of Nationally Competitive Awards (NCA) supports UC students and recent alumni interested in applying for external fellowships. Our goal is to support students as early as possible in their college careers, helping them to develop as strong candidates for fellowships. We serve all UC undergraduate, graduate, and professional students, as well as UC alumni.

We provide comprehensive advising and support for a set of core awards that require UC endorsement. We also provide advising and application assistance for a select group of priority awards that do not require UC endorsement. We've also curated a number of other awards that meet the needs of the diverse student population at UC.

Upcoming Learning Series Registration

Registration is now open for the sessions listed below. You may register now by clicking below or review details for each of the sessions to learn more. 

Email with questions.

Upcoming Learning Series Sessions

December 8 at 12:30pm: Scholarship and Session Details

The Fulbright UK Summer Institutes are three or four week programs for US undergraduate students, who have no or very little travel experience outside North America. Participants can explore the culture, heritage and history of the UK while experiencing higher education at a UK university. 

Upcoming Award Deadlines

  • National Deadline: January 28, 2022
  • National Deadline: February 1, 2022
  • Campus Deadline: December 1, 2021
  • National Deadline: January 14, 2022
  • Campus Deadline: January 3, 2022
  • Boren Fellowships National Deadline: January 26, 2022 @5PM ET
  • Boren Scholarships National Deadline: February 2, 2022 @5PM ET
  • Campus Deadline: February 1, 2022
  • National Deadline: March 1, 2022 @ 11:59PM MST
  • National Deadline: February 21, 2022

Congratulations 2020–2021 Award Winners!

  • Caleb Akers, International Affairs; Political ScienceBoren Scholarship
  • Haley BertramClassical Archaeology, Fulbright Study/Research (France)
  • Adam ElzarkaMedical Sciences; Liberal Arts, Boren Scholarship
  • Mahesh Gowda, Business AdministrationForeign Affairs Information Technology Fellowship
  • Nicholas Marx, French; Mathematics, Boren Scholarship
  • Annie McAllister, Voice Performance, Fulbright Study/Research (Ireland)
  • Matthew Raj, Medical Sciences; SpanishFulbright ETA (Mexico)
  • Sanjeeth Rajaram, Medical Sciences, Barry Goldwater Scholarship
  • Austin Snider, Cybersecurity, Boren Scholarship

2020-2021 Award Alternates & Finalists

  • Chinmay Bakshi, Neurobiology; Liberal ArtsRhodes Scholarship (Finalist)
  • Matthew ClaytonPolitical Science, Fulbright Study/Research (Alternate)
  • Marcus McDowellInterdisciplinary Studies, Schwarzman Scholarship (Finalist)
  • Camryn Morrow, Human Development & Community, Truman Scholarship (Finalist)

Please Fill out our Intake Form

If you are interested in being added to our database to be kept up-to-date on all info sessions and resources for the awards that interest you, please fill out our Intake Form.

Come to an Intro to Fellowships Session

Open to all students! Get an overview of the awards and how our office can help you apply!

  • Email to schedule an appointment.
  • Sessions can be held either on Zoom or in-person.