Ten staff honored for boosting UC’s success

The 2019 Staff Excellence Awards go to deserving staff who continually go above and beyond for UC

In the inaugural year of the University of Cincinnati’s Staff Senate, 10 staff members were honored with the first UC Staff Excellence Awards for their outstanding work and continued contributions to UC.

UC President Pinto at the podium announcing the 2019 Staff Excellence Awards.

UC President Pinto honors the 2019 Staff Excellence Awardees for directly contributing to UC's success. photo/Andrew Higley/UC Creative Services

On Dec. 5, in UC Tangeman Center’s Great Hall, President Neville Pinto, Provost Kristi Nelson and Senior Vice President for Administration and Finance Bob Ambach honored each awardee with a $1,000 prize and a commemorative gift. 

“These winners were chosen from over 100 nominees across the university for going above and beyond to perform their duties in an outstanding manner that directly contributes to the success of the University of Cincinnati,” said Pinto in front of a crowd of approximately 200 UC staff and faculty members.

“This event, sponsored by the Staff Senate, will be held annually to celebrate and recognize our colleagues who show an outstanding level of service and commitment to the University of Cincinnati,” says Christine Gilliam, HR Director for UC’s College of Medicine and Staff Senator at Large. 

UC's Staff Senate Chair Chris Collins stands at the podium at the Staff Excellence Awards event.

Chair of the Staff Senate Chris Collins gives special recognition to the winners at UC's first Staff Excellence Awards event. photo/Andrew Higley/UC Creative Services

In her opening remarks, Staff Senate Chair Chris Collins commended Pinto for his strong support of university staff.

"Since his return as President, [Neville Pinto] has truly been a champion for staff at the university," she said. "He has included and prioritized staff enrichment as a key component of Next Lives Here, established UC's Staff Success Center as one of the first and most visible accomplishments of the academic excellence platform and has championed the creation of a university-wide Staff Senate, which has led us all here today." 

2019 Staff Excellence Award winners

The 2019 UC Staff Excellence Awardees stand with Pres. Pinto, Provost Kristi Nelson and Senior Vice President for Administration and Finance Bob Ambach.

The 2019 Staff Excellence Award winners with UC President Pinto, Provost Kristi Nelson and Senior Vice President for Administration and Finance Bob Ambach. photo/Andrew Higley/UC Creative Services

  • Jonathan Barber, business data reporting analyst in UC’s College of Arts and Sciences (A&S) business office
  • Laura Carnaghi, associate director for UC College of Pharmacy academic affairs
  • Leah Chamberlain, academic director of UC College of Education, Criminal Justice, and Human Services (CECH) student services center
  • Amber Kuftic, program coordinator for UC Blue Ash academic support
  • Sigmund Maley, stationary engineer apprentice in UC’s Central Utilities Operations
  • Kiana Million, program director for UC College of Nursing academic affairs
  • Elizabeth Pawley, assistant director in UC’s Carl H. Lindner College of Business Career Services
  • Sharon Reddert, business administrator in UC CECH Arlitt Center
  • Danielle Signorile, administrative director in UC CECH’s Office of the Dean
  • Cynthia Treacy, assistant director of grants in UC’s A&S research and graduate studies

For more information about UC’s Staff Excellence Awards and the complete list of 2019 nominees

Featured image at top: Posters of UC's 2019 Staff Excellence Award winners lined the walls in UC TUC's Great Hall. photo/Andrew Higley/UC Creative Services

Event festivities

UC Staff Excellence Award winners stand with the UC Bearcat.
Three women mingle the 2019 UC Staff Excellence Award event.

Next Lives Here

As part of the university's strategic direction Next Lives Here, UC staff continually make a positive impact and contribute to the university's overall success.