Students on MainStreet

The University of Cincinnati is home to a number of different committees who work around the clock to ensure that the university remains an inclusive, top-quality education and research institution that can guarantee the success of its many students and faculty.

The Office of the Provost leads a number of these committees, whose responsibilities range from developing academic policies and procedures , managing the university’s budget, supporting IT initiatives, overseeing enrollment , leading undergraduate education and maintaining eCurriculum.

The Academic Committee (AC) is the university-level governance committee charged to review and recommend newly proposed academic policies, procedures, and issues of academic quality, need, and cross-unit coordination to the Provost. The committee is also responsible for making recommendations to the Provost regarding program assessment, and support of ongoing re-accreditation by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC).  The AC makes recommendations on:

  • New degree programs (for graduate programs, in partnership with the Graduate Council)
  • New certificates (for graduate programs, in partnership with the Graduate Council)
  • Referred cases, i.e. new substantial tracks or modifications to existing academic programs
  • Review and approval of program assessment plans
  • Review and approval of policy changes, new policies, academic related issues, etc.
  • Review and approval of general education related changes, revisions, etc.
  • Ensuring efficient and mission alignment while encouraging cross college collaboration and inter-disciplinary programs

The Academic Committee is comprised of the following:

  • Chair: Vice Provost of Undergraduate Affairs (ex-offico)
  • Co-Chair: Vice Provost for Academic Programs
  • One undergraduate student selected by the Undergraduate Student Government
  • Two Faculty Senate representatives, from different colleges, designated by the Faculty Senate in accordance by their internal governance procedures
  • Faculty Senate Chair
  • Faculty Senate Chair of Academic Affairs
  • Associate Dean of the Graduate College
  • Each College/Division offering undergraduate programs will have one representative. This representative will be selected for a 3-year term and may come from the college’s curriculum committee, undergraduate council, or be the Associate Dean
  • Vice Provost of International Affairs (as needed)
  • Director of CET&L (when assessment is discussed)
  • Director of Honors (when issues related to Honors are discussed)
  • The University Registrar (as needed)
  • UC Online (for online requests)

AC Membership Roster
Name College/Office
Keisha Love Chair, Office of the Provost
Bryan Smith Co-Chair CET&L
Allen Arthur  CEAS
Ann Black DAAP
James Bunte CCM
Dan Carl Faculty Senate Chair
Pamela Childers CAHS
Krista Clark UC Clermont
Jacob Cogan Law
Tai Collins   Graduate College
Christopher Cooper ELCE
Laura Dell CECH
Molly McDermott-Fallon  Registrar
Julie Gill  Faculty Senate Representative
Donna Green Nursing
Margaret Hanson A&S
Kevin Haworth
Heather Moore
Sharon Purtee
UC Libraries
Chuck Sox

Strategic Enrollment Management (SEM) is a comprehensive process designed to:

  • Develop strategies to maximize optimum student recruitment, enrollment, retention, persistence, graduation and alumni participation within the context of institutional mission
  • Assist campus leadership in reaching critical decisions about faculty and staff employment planning, academic and student program development, construction and operational needs
  • Aid in the coordination of services that ensures a seamless process of recruitment, enrollment, retention, student services, graduation and alumni relations
  • Incorporate integrated enrollment and financial planning

At UC, this process is facilitated through a carefully designed structure led by the SEM Policy Council and supported through a Management Team and Working Groups for targeted enrollment enhancement/support initiatives. Membership is designed to achieve full campus participation in the evolution and implementation of UC’s enrollment goals.

SEM Groups & Committees

SEM Policy Council
Chair: Valerio Ferme, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost

  • Set overall goals for SEM
  • Approve enrollment related policy
  • Approve enrollment goals for admission, retention and graduation
  • Evaluate efforts
  • Consult with Council of Deans, College Liaison Committee, Faculty Senate and other governance groups
  • Optimize use of resources
  • Link financial planning and SEM

SEM Management Team

  • Develop SEM enrollment plans
  • Review and recommend policies from the SEM working groups for approval by SEM Policy Council
  • Develop strategies for achieving specific enrollment objectives
  • Facilitate implementation of plans
  • Communicate with University community and other governance groups
  • Evaluate effectiveness of strategies and tactics

SEM New Student Enrollment Network

  • Review issues and programming critical to undergraduate new student recruitment and enrollment
  • Share admissions and enrollment data to support strategies and long-range planning
  • Increase number of prospective students and applicants who visit campus
  • Report findings and make recommendations to the SEM Management Team

Drawing from the university's 17 deans, the Council of Deans meets monthly to provide guidance on UC's policies, initiatives and large-scale projects.