Getting Started in AEM
Access Overview
All users with an active UC login have read-only access to AEM. In order to obtain editing access within AEM, you must complete the training. Get started by visiting the AEM training page and submitting a request
Roles and Permissions
Permissions for AEM are assigned to each individual site. If you need permissions for more than one site, be sure to include that in your initial request.
Within each site there are two levels of access:
- Basic: Basic authors have full access to edit any page within the site they have permissions to. However, they do not have access to publish their changes live to the website. They will need either the apex user or another advanced user to publish their changes for them.
- Advanced: Advanced authors can make their edits and immediately publish them live on the website. They do not need the assistance of the apex user to push new content live.
Definition
An Apex User is the main point of contact or liaison between departments, units or colleges and the Digital + User Experience team. If you need assistance determining who the apex user for your area is, please submit a ticket.
Logging In
Users can log into AEM using author.uc.edu or https://author-p153470-e1620333.adobeaemcloud.com. You can bookmark these pages to quickly access them. You will be prompted to complete a DUO Two factor Authentication step in order to login. You do not need to connect over the VPN.
The majority of users will use your 6+2@ucmail.uc.edu address. Student workers must login using their 6+2@mail.uc.edu
Troubleshooting
If you experience any issues with the login process, the first recommended step is to try and clear your browser cache/history, close your browser, and begin the login process again. You can also try using a private browser window.
Updating your default interface
If you were previously an author on an old-template site, you may need to update your default user settings. If your screen is not matching the images in this guide, please try the below steps.
- Click on the user icon in the top right corner.
- Click "My Preferences"
- Ensure "Use Classic Authoring Experience" is unchecked.
- Click Accept.